Thank You, First Baptist.

images

First Baptist Family,

I don’t know of a better way to communicate to all of you en masse than this medium. So, when you receive this, please share it with other members of FBC when you can.

This week the IMB elected a new President. As you know, I was on the search team that recommended David Platt for the position. It was an incredible time for me, personally, to be able to serve on this team and do this work.

However, it meant your pastor being gone A LOT more than usual. Over the last 6 months, I travelled 6 additional times my normal schedule. I also had more reading and conference calls on my schedule here than normal. It meant, in other words, that I gave a lot of my attention to this. No one asked you if it was okay if I did this. No one told you ahead of time, “Hey, Pastor Matt is going to be out a lot over the first 6-8 months of 2014.” It just “happened.”

But not one of you complained to me about being away. No one expressed anger. No one expressed concern. For all I know, you were thrilled that I was gone!!!!

If anything, several of you shared with me of your prayers for me and our committee in this process.

THANK YOU.

Thank you for allowing me to be gone in order to participate in this very important matter. It means so much to me that you all understood and were supportive of what I have been privileged to be a part of.

In addition, many – if not most – of you know that I will be gone again this week. Tomorrow morning, I am taking my family to Disney World. This is something that has been scheduled and planned for a LONG time. It just happens to be at the end of me being gone a lot for the IMB meetings. For us as a family, it comes at a perfect time. The person who has worked the hardest during my travels this year has been my incredible wife. It has also meant me being away from my kids more than I prefer. Due to my schedule and this upcoming Disney trip, we were unable to get away “just the 5 of us” this summer. So, this week at Disney World is going to be wonderful for our family.

But I wanted you to know why and where your pastor was “again” when he isn’t around next week. Unknown

I don’t have to tell you this, but we have a tremendous staff who, quite literally, work with excellence whether I am here or on the road. They are awesome.

Brady Canright will be filling in for me this Sunday morning. YOU WILL NOT WANT TO MISS being here. He is incredibly gifted behind the pulpit and with the Word of God.

Again, thank you for your prayerful and verbal support of me being a part of the Presidential Search process for the IMB. Thank you for the understanding of your pastor being away more than usual. And thank you, in advance, for your prayers for my family as we spend some concentrated time together this week with Goofy and friends.

I am already about to bust to get behind the pulpit on Sunday, September 7th. Right now, we have 4 baptisms scheduled, we will share in the Lord’s Supper together, and I will be continuing in Philippians 1 on what it means to say “to live is Christ and to die is gain.”

I can’t wait!

With sincere appreciation for you,

Pastor Matt

4 thoughts on “Thank You, First Baptist.

  1. elizabethp1968 says:

    I firmly believe that your participation with the committee and your “extra” traveling opened up many doors and gave your insight to continue to lead our congregation and church body with even more passion and clear direction than you have already displayed and exhibited. As a church, if we in any way had not allowed you to be a part of the IMB process, I think we would have done a disservice to what God has planned for us as body of believers and for the area of El Dorado and the foreign areas in the vision of our church. Leadership needs time away and I pray for your safety and FUN during your time away on the family trip but look forward to all of you being back with us after some time with just your lovely immediate family without your FBC family.

  2. Brad Weinischke says:

    Well said Miss Elizabet! Matt, it is so clear that God is working in you. We are blessed to have you and your family. You inspire us all to seek God more.
    Pray that your families’ trip to Mouse Land is wonderful.

    You have to tell us why you don’t where the orange shirt. You look great in the photo. LOL

    God be with you and yours

    • Thanks Brad! That means a lot! Yeah, I need to wear the orange shirt more often!
      I think I will take a selfie with Goofy next week, send it to Brian Trostle, and say “thinking of you!” :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,636 other followers

