Fitting First Post

IMG_2223Today is my 13th wedding anniversary. On December 18th, 1999 I got married to my best friend and the absolute love of my life. I love this day.

The morning of our wedding day I read Proverbs 18. I will never forget the heaviness (or should I say ‘giddiness’?) of God’s Spirit on my heart when I read verse 22: “He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the LORD.” I knew before I read this – but reading it on my wedding day sealed the deal forever and ever – the LORD has given me a GOOD thing and by His sheer grace, mercy, and love I had found favor with Him by having Katie as my wife.

 

Every month – on the 18th – I read this verse and smile.

Every year – on December 18th – I read this verse and my heart leaps.

The purpose of this ‘new’ blog site is for me to be as intentional as possible in the way and to whom I pastor (see the sidebar). I want this to be another (small) means of pastoring; not just random – with no ‘intentional’ purpose  – posts.

So here is the purpose of this one: Meditating on this verse again this morning caused me to think: “Could it be that the reason Katie and I sometimes go through seasons of frustration and tension is because I forget the truth of Proverbs 18:22?” In other words, am I guilty of way too often forgetting what a good thing Katie is and that having her as my wife is a demonstration of the LORD’s gracious favor to me? I think so. Even though I read this verse at least once a month and even though the LORD sealed it on my heart 13 years ago today, I STILL need to be reminded of its truth more and more and more.

Husbands, let me ask you: What are you filling your mind with regarding your wife? Is it the truth of God’s Word, or is it the ‘spirit of the age’?

Do you watch a show or a commercial or a movie on TV and think, “I wish my wife would be that way?”

Do you read an article in a magazine or hear about someone’s marriage via the social media and get immediately upset with your wife?

These things, these thoughts, these ponderings will cause immediate frustration and anger and tension that are totally unwarranted.

Do you allow the spirit of the world drive your thinking about your wife, or do you allow the truth of the Word of God dominate your thoughts? Our enemy, the devil, hates us and so wants to believe a bunch of lies about our wives and marriages.

The truth? He who finds a wife finds are REALLY GOOD thing and obtains favor from the LORD who loves you.

Intentionally let that dictate your thoughts – believe it because it is true – and treat her as the gift from the LORD she is. When you believe the truth, and act on it AS the truth it is, transformation happens.

 

Tagged , ,

11 thoughts on “Fitting First Post

  1. Ronnie Clay says:

    Happy anniversary!

  2. Mom says:

    And, by the same token, your family found a wonderful addition to our group. We love you, Katie! You continue to amaze and inspire us.

  3. Jesse Baker says:

    Happy Anniversary Matt!

  4. Danny says:

    You and I both married ridiculously out of our leagues.

    I remember that day very, very well. Come to think of it, I still haven’t forgiven you for making me wear a clerical robe for the first and last time ever.

  5. Glen Bassett says:

    Happy Anniversary and may God continue to bless you and your family. We are blessed to have you as pastor of First Baptist Church in El Dorado. Love: Glen and Mary Bassett

Leave a Reply

