The Nutcracker, the Nations, and NOW

 

Unknown-1

Last night, my 7 year old son (Luke) had his break out performance as a candy cane in Hugh Goodwin’s ElementarySecond Grade Class ‘The Nutcracker.’ You should have seen him. I didn’tknow you could dance like that around a candy cane. I didn’t know my kid had moves like that. I didn’t know he could jump that high (heck, I didn’t know any white kid that could jump that high). I know I am a tiny bit partial: but he was . . . what’s a good word . . . amazing? fascinating? a cut above? super? I know, they all seem so cheap in comparison – but you get the point.

But that’s not the purpose of this post (however, if you would like to know more about Luke’s remarkable 2 and a half minute performance, we can talk about it as long as you would like. . . go by PJ’s, get me some coffee, and come on over to my office!).

I noticed two things last night while I was at the El Dorado High School Auditorium. Two things that I believe the members of FBC would do well to keep in mind at all times:

1. There are TONS of people in El Dorado who do not go to church anywhere. 

Okay, so I don’t have any empirical evidence to back up this claim. However, I was sitting in a packed room of what I am guessing to be around 500 people. I knew maybe a dozen of them. If you allow the liberty of 300 others in the room who actively attend a church (and that is probably a generous liberty), that leaves 200 people who don’t attend anywhere. I know this is a guess, but you get my drift. There were TONS of people there last night who I didn’t know existed. I had never seen them before. And this was just the 2nd grade class at ONE of the elementary schools in El Dorado. There are many in this city who don’t go to church anywhere. What are they waiting for? For us to invite them.

Know someone in your ‘circle’ who don’t go anywhere? Invite them this Sunday. Invite them to the Christmas Eve service. It’s Christmas – they’ll probably come!

2. There are TONS of Internationals in El Dorado. 

Last night on stage I saw white people, black people (Birti calls them ‘brown people’), Hispanic people, and Asian people. Did I mention that this was JUST the 2nd grade class at Hugh Goodwin? Well, it was. Yes, the nations have come to El Dorado. Sunday morning, we had two Albanians as guests. I don’t think for one second that it is an accident the nations are here. Jesus said to make disciples of all nations. Opportunities are all around us.

How intentional will you be today with the Gospel you know and love and embrace?

How intentional will you be the week leading up the celebration of our Savior’s birth?

How intentional will you be in 2013?

Tagged , ,

One thought on “The Nutcracker, the Nations, and NOW

  1. Dad says:

    Wish we could have been there, too!

Leave a Reply

