Looking Up to Nick

I can’t believe it. My fingers are shaking as I even type these words. What you are about to read is a shock to my system. What you will read after that will shock the internet.

I admire Nick Saban. Unknown-2

There. I said it. Whew. WordPress didn’t shut down. . . yet.

Now get this: So does my dad. Yeah. Steve Pearson. . . Oh. . . wait a minute. . . okay . . . the web still works – for now.

We were talking about it yesterday. I wasn’t around during the Bear Bryant era (though I very vividly recall my kindergarten class shutting down the afternoon of ‘The Bear’s’ funeral so my teacher could watch on TV). But my dad was. I will spare you all the comments I have heard all of my life about the man from Fordyce, AR. Needless to say, they aren’t flattering. . . Funny? Hilarious. Flattering? Not so much.

But he and I together can’t find much of anything bad to say about ole Nick. I want to. He does too. It’s not fun watching your arch-rival whip the pants off of everybody – including your own beloved alma mater. But we admit that we both admire and respect what and how Nick Saban does his thing.

As a matter of fact, I will go on record as saying that when I read this quote yesterday from the celebrated center Barrett Jones I thought to myself: “I want to lead like that.”

Jones said this about his coach: “He’s awesome. A lot of people see him as this hard, slave-driver kind of guy, but man, he loves his players, and we love him. He demands the best from us, and that’s why we love him.”

Isn’t that what leadership is all about? Think about it: The kid that said this was with Saban four years. He has 3 National Championship rings. He won’t have to submit to another order from his coach. He could say anything he wanted. And he did. Jones’ words show much honor, respect, love, and devotion. This starting center said that his leader is awesome; loves his players, and demands the best from them. This 6 foot 5 inch, 300 pound monster said he loves a man – his coach.

It’s been said that “a leader who has no one following is just taking a walk.” Saban not only has followers, he has players that love him and think he’s awesome.

Demanding the best from those you lead while earning their respect, trust, and love is leadership.

Okay – I’ll say it: “I really want to lead like that.”

[By the way – check this out about Barrett Jones. Absolutely incredible stuff about this young man at the IMB website. You HAVE to admire a guy like this! May his tribe increase . . . at Auburn! :)]

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Looking Up to Nick

  1. Dad says:

    Good one Matt. I believe you can be the Nick Saban of pastors!

  2. Cindy says:

    Great comment from your dad! Great article and the
    link/separate post on Barrett was also awesome. BTW, even if you
    didn’t like the Bear he was a pretty beloved leader too! Bet it
    hurts your heart to drive through Fordyce and see that big Bear
    Bryant sign lol. I’ll leave you with a quote my Dad shared with me
    when I was a kid that has stuck with me. It was hanging in our home
    and became such a part of me I used it as my favorite quote in my
    college yearbook. “If you believe in yourself, and have dedication
    and pride, and never quit, you’ll be a winner. The price of victory
    is high, but so are the rewards!” – go on and guess – yep, Paul
    Bear Bryant said it. 🙂

    • Doug Spencer says:

      I have a Coach Bryant story I will share with u sometime ,
      it took place after I graduated but made a profound impact on me,
      Doug Spencer

  3. David Baggett says:

    I will be collecting your diploma the next time I see you!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

