Pastor Pearson’s Sunday Morning Prediction

If you are 50 or older and a member of the First Baptist Church of El Dorado, I predict something extraordinary for you and your worship experience in the morning. I am not a prophet, nor the son of one – but I can almost guarantee this prediction.

Tomorrow around 10:30 am – you will be the most optimistic men and women of your age bracket in our city, if not our nation. Yep. I can almost ‘hear’ your optimism 18 hours before it even happens in your heart and mind.

According to the clock on the upper right hand corner of my computer screen right now, it is 4:08 PM. So, at 4:08 PM on January 12th, 2013 – I, Matthew S. Pearson, predict all men and women ages 50 and above (who are attending  the AM worship service at FBC) will be enthusiastically optimistic by 10:30 am on January 13th – in the year of our Lord 2013.

How could I possibly predict such a thing?Unknown-1

Well. . .

Not because of the sermon – according to the time of my prediction, it won’t have been preached yet.

Not because of the temperature of the sanctuary – only the Lord knows if it will be too hot or cold.

Not because of the physical look of the sanctuary – it looks weird because the students’ big ‘Reality Check’ weekend.

Not because of the music that you will sing – the lyrics will be worshipful and God-centered, but the sound may be loud and the tune a bit ‘eye-brow raising’ (heck, some of you may even want to go back to the ‘good ole days’ when you attended the Assembly and danced during church!).

Not because of the well dressed worship leadersthey look weird and wear hats.

Not because we are having a high-attendance Sunday – though I hope we do have a GREAT crowd.

And not because I got my voice to sound like David Jeremiah – which would be AWESOME.

I make this prediction because I know what many of you have done this week – the same thing I have done this week and caught myself doing more and more lately: watch the news, wonder ‘what’s this world coming to????’, and go to bed depressed and mad at the state of our nation.

So, how can I guarantee such a HUGE prediction of optimism by YOU in the morning???? Because about 10:30 am you won’t be upset over the state of our nation anymore. Nope. You will be more optimistic than you have been in a long, long time.

Why? Here it comes: The FBC sanctuary will be filled with about 100 students who are beyond excited about Jesus and what He wants to do in and through their lives. Not 5 students. Not 10 students. Not 50 students. Not even 80 students. Right at 100 students who are ready to see our city (and nation and world) set on fire by the Spirit of our great God with the Gospel of our Lord Jesus. He turned the world upside down with 12 guys (book of Acts) – what do you think He wants to do with 100 students under 18? Are you kidding?

Tomorrow will be a different Sunday for FBC. It will be weird. It will be ‘not what we’re used to.’ But I guarantee you a big ball of joy when you look at the pews filled with young people who have been touched by the God you prayed to on their behalf this weekend. I’ve already witnessed the optimism in my gut. It’s amazing.

I think your excitement for what God is doing in the lives of these students will far outweigh the different sight, smell, sound, taste, and feel of the worship service.

Who knows? Your optimism coupled with theirs might just spark a revival our city so desperately needs.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Pastor Pearson’s Sunday Morning Prediction

  1. Jennifer says:

    I can’t wait!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

