The “2 Year Warranty Method” of Evangelism

Ever heard of it?

The Roman Road? Sure.

Evangelism Explosion (EE)? Yep.Unknown-1

FAITH? You betcha.

Share Jesus Without Fear? Got it down.

2 Year Warranty Purchase? Used it today.

Didn’t mean to, really. But I did . . .and it worked.

What is it? You buy the $25.00 2 year warranty plan for a new printer and you get a non-religious international to your church. What? You never heard of that???

Okay, I’ll explain.

In brief: My 6 month old printer started making noises that caused my coworkers down the hall to wonder what I was doing in my office. I researched it, and having someone come look at it and possibly order a new part or two would more than double the original cost for the printer. So, I bought a new one yesterday. While checking out, the cashier asked if I would like the two year full protection plan for this printer (for the low price of 25 bucks). I thought, “well, that will prevent me from having to do this again in 6 months, so ‘Sure!’.” I noticed she was an extremely kind international (her look and accent). Sure enough, she was not from around here – moved here 6 years ago with her husband. I then asked her if she had any spiritual beliefs (Share Jesus Without Fear method!!!). She said, with a smile, “No.” She then (I guess because I just look pastoral or something) asked me where I went to church. I told her who I was and what I did and told her I would love to have her and her husband join us Sunday. Guess what? She said, “because you purchased the 2 year protection plan, I’ll be there!” Works every time!

Seriously, she was just happy because I am sure her boss gives her an incentive for selling warranties. I get that. I also get that I haven’t actually seen her in church . . . yet.

But here’s the takeaway for us ‘church people’ placed in El Dorado: Internationals who have ZERO spiritual beliefs are all around us! Did you catch that? Let me type it again: Internationals who have ZERO spiritual beliefs are all around us!

It is no accident that they are here. It is no accident that we who know the Gospel live and shop and eat and print with them. Difference between them knowing Christ and having ZERO spiritual beliefs? All of us buying 2 year protection warranty plans! No, just kidding. It’s called being INTENTIONAL.

If I don’t see her Sunday, I will go back to where I purchased the printer. I’ll need to buy a pen or something. Or get Brian Trostle a new pocket protector (ask me about his secret stash in his office). I don’t want her to keep living (or die) having ZERO spiritual beliefs. I want her (and others like her) to know the life that is given by faith in Jesus.

Besides, all souls will go on much longer than 2 years.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “The “2 Year Warranty Method” of Evangelism

  1. Mom says:

    Awesome!!!! I think you’re on to something here. You might want to get a 2-year warranty on your new tires while you’re at it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

