I’m Glad He Dreamed

“I have a dream today.

I have a dream that one day the state of Alabama, whose governor’s lips are presently dripping with the words of interposition and nullification, will be transformed into a situation where little black boys and black girls will be able to join hands with little white boys and white girls and walk together as sisters and brothers.

I have a dream today.”  [Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. (Excerpt from speech given on August 28th, 1963)]

One man’s dream changed my life. As I type these words, I have four different nationalities asleep under the roof of my home.

Philippines. Uganda. Ethiopia. North America.

photo

Two of them (one boy from Philippines and one boy from Uganda) will only be with us two nights (Children of the World performed at FBC last night and we have the privilege of hosting a couple of the kids.).

But the Ethiopian is my daughter and the North Americans are my two sons.

photo-8

None of it would be possible had there not been a dream and a massive vision cast almost fifty years ago.

I’ve always appreciated and respected Dr. King – his convictions, his vision, his leadership, and his speech given at our nation’s capital. But this year is different.

I wonder what would have happened had he not dreamed? I wonder what would have happened had he not boldly proclaimed what he knew to be right and the will of God? I wonder. Thankfully, we’ll never know.

Dr. King never knew the impact that dream would have – on individuals; on societies; on churches; on families; on government; on Matt Pearson.

But that’s what good leaders do (great post for leader lessons from MLK here). They dream and work and strive and live and die to make others better – hoping that when their time is up, their little life would have made things a bit better better for those that follow.

I’ll be honest. . . I don’t know if I’ve ever really ‘celebrated’ MLK Day for MLK. But today I will.

I’m glad he dreamed.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “I’m Glad He Dreamed

  1. Debbie Henry says:

    Your words made my heart sing!! I pray for your princess daily when I pray for my grandchildren. It is my pleasure and my joy. Please tell Seth and Luke I said hi….. Katie, too.

Leave a Reply

