Now THAT’s a Good Question!

It’s Monday morning and you know what that means. . . images

Today’s the day where I answer for the world wide web a question that was posed to me as a pastor during the week that I think others might benefit from.

Okay, so maybe my mom and two others may benefit. . .

This week’s question (and answer) came in the form of an email. I thought it was a tremendous question.

Here’s the message sent to me. . .

Matt,

My wife and I saw this commercial on TV last night. It left me speechless. Then, my wife did some research, and found this article on the founder of Amazon, maker of Kindle. Question. Do we, as Christians, not buy anything on Amazon? Should we, as Christians, not buy a Kindle?
If you click on the links included in the question, you will be able to firmly say with me:
“NOW THAT IS A GOOD QUESTION!!!!!”
Here was my response . . .
You have asked a very, very good question. A question more and more Christians are, and need to be, asking.
Though there is a really big part of me that wants to reply to your answer with a, “Let’s all boycott Amazon and Kindle!” reply, I do not think that is the right, or best approach to take.
There are several reasons I say this:
1. If we do stop buying from Amazon because of their same sex views, where do we stop?
One, there are TONS of other companies with the same views as Amazon that we purchase all the time.
Two, if we stop buying because this company believes in same sex marriage, do we stop buying from others because they are Pro-Choice? Others because they believe in the legalization of marijuana? Others because their CEO drinks Budweiser? On and on and on. If we take this approach – where is the line and where does it stop? Make sense?
2. Boycotting, to me, just seems like Christians are afraid. 
What I mean is, if you think about it, refusing to buy something from Amazon because they believe in ‘same-sex’ marriage communicates, “Hey, I am important. You exist because of my money. I won’t buy from you until you change your views on homosexuality.” Let’s say they stop broadcasting their views publicly. Who won? They did. Why? Because they get our money again (or still) and still haven’t changed their views. The only way anyone will change is by the power of the Gospel – not by Christians refusing to pay for something. Besides, we are in the minority (evangelical Christians). Boycotting something just looks like we are scared that maybe God really isn’t in control and we have to use money to define power. For the Christian, money doesn’t define power. God is power. All-power.
3. The way to communicate truth is to intentionally use our hearts and our mouths. 
When Jesus left the earth He said to intentionally “make disciples” and “be His witnesses.” I’ve never known of a boycott to be a means by which unbelievers finally turn to Christ. I’m not saying boycotting is a sin or evil. There certainly my be instances where it is the right thing to do. However, by and large – especially for something like this – the way to change perspectives is for believers to intentionally engage their lost friends, neighbors, family members, and coworkers and give reasons why they believe what they believe about marriage and divorce and sexuality.
Russell Moore – in a very important article on this subject – writes:
“We won’t win this argument by bringing corporations to the ground in surrender. We’ll engage this argument, first of all, by prompting our friends and neighbors to wonder why we don’t divorce each other, and why we don’t split up when a spouse loses his job or loses her health. We’ll engage this argument when we have a more exalted, and more mysterious, view of sexuality than those who see human persons as animals or machines. And, most of all, we’ll engage this argument when we proclaim the meaning behind marriage: the covenant union of Christ and his church.”
 
Again, you have asked an incredibly important question. It needs to be asked and it needs to be answered well – with careful thought, love, and compassion for those who don’t hold to our same biblical understanding. I hope I have made some sense here. Please continue to ask questions like this and help me and others think as carefully as possible about these things.
So, that’s how I responded to this really good question. What do you think? Am I right? Would you add anything? Would you take away anything from my response? Thoughts?

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Now THAT’s a Good Question!

  1. Dad says:

    Excellent answer to an excellent question. Keep it up!

  2. Debra Hammond says:

    Great answer! We have participated in our share of boycotts in the ’80’s with AFR but I never really felt it was the best option but wanted to let our voice be heard! I do feel the huge boycott on Disney hurt their pocketbook or at least we heard it did, but I haven’t seen any moral changes there either!
    BTW….. I chocked on my coffee this am before I read ur blog completely because I ordered 3 books for my kindle just last night! ;( I have NOT seen their ( Amazon’s) propaganda! I didn’t know how to unload and resend them back lol
    Praying daily for you

  3. Libby Kloap says:

    WOW! Your answer was wonderful! I have never liked boycotting, but thought it was because I am weak. I think if all Christians lived their daily lives so that Christ was shining into the world, businesses would make better decisions! If Mr. Amazon’s neighbor were witnessing to Mr. Amazon, and showing God to the world every day, then Amazon would be a better company! Taking my business to a different business does not show Amazon God. Thank you for being so obedient to your calling!

Leave a Reply

