Now THAT’s a Good Question!!!

Okay, so this question was not asked last week.

In fact, I haven’t really been asked any real good ‘theologically rich,’ ‘make your brain explode,’ ‘get ready to be blown away in wonder with my answer as I wax eloquently to make myself look like I am not from Alabama and am really smart’ type of questions in recent days.

So, bring ’em on!!!!

Oh wait, I take that back. . .

I have been asked, “do you want fries with that?” at Chick-Fil-A; and “do you want a car wash?” by a computer at the gas pump; and “you’re not gonna wear that are you?” by my wife; and “leave room for cream?” at Starbucks.

images

 

But I do get this question ALL the time from church people:

“What kind of Bible translation do you use?”

This is actually a great question to consider – not to know what I use, necessarily, but to know how you can best personally study the Bible for yourself.

To answer the question, I preach out of the English Standard Version (ESV) of the Bible and currently use the New Living Translation (NLT) for personal devotions.

Why the ESV? I have written about this more in depth here, here, and here. The bottom line is, currently, I use it for preaching purposes simply because of its accuracy.

Why the NLT? Simple: EASY TO READ! Though not as accurate as the ESV, it flows a lot smoother and is just plain simple to read.

I have found that if I stick to using one translation all the time, I will ‘tune out’ more often and – in my mind – begin to predict what the passage is going to say. When I ‘mix up’ the translations, I am more apt to read something fresh, thus paying closer attention.

What are some of the most accurate translations?

English Standard Version (ESV)

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

New King James Version (NKJV)

What are some of the ‘easy to read’ translations?

New International Version (NIV)

New Living Translation (NLT)

Contemporary English Version (CEV)

My suggestion for you?

Get yourself a version from each of the lists above and keep ’em both handy as you read and study (or, you can just go to Bible Gateway and get a whole bunch of translations for free!).

While you’re at it, go ahead and get a copy of this version to keep everything in proper perspective.

I’m serious. Get it. You will be very glad you did.

Now. Let me ask YOU a question:

What translation is your favorite? Why?

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Now THAT’s a Good Question!!!

  1. Libby Kloap says:

    I bought the Jesus Story Book Bible when you first recommended it and began reading it. It is great! I must admit that I did not read it all the way through… However, I gave each of my grown sons (25 & 28) a copy for Christmas. I told them that it was for them to read now and to read to their children in the future. (no kids right now) They looked at me funny, as did their wives, but I have a feeling God will use that book one of these days!

    Right now I do my Bible reading/study in the English Standard Version Bible. I like having the same version in church that the preacher is using. I had never read the ESV so I am now enjoying it very much.

    My favorite Bible for reading is the NLT or the Message Bible.

    My favorite Bible for indepth study is the NIV Life Application Bible, of which I have two! The first one I bought was not red letter edition. I really like red letter editions.

    My husband would be quick to tell you that we have at least 40 Bibles in our house. I know it’s alot.
    I love God’s Word and having copies all over the house…

Leave a Reply

