Free Flow Fridays!!!

Unknown-1Today is the day where I kick back and check my brain at the door.

Instead of me having to think – at all – I just link for you some articles I think would be helpful for you and your life.

Besides, it’s Friday! Haven’t we used our brains enough this week?

 

 

 

#1. 10 Interesting Facts about Marriage 

“Due to jobs, kids, TV, the Internet, hobbies, and home and family responsibilities, the average married couple spends just four minutes a day alone together.”

What will you do about these realities?

#2. 7 Things I Want My Kids to Know About Me

“Daily, I tell my kids that I love them and I work hard to show them that I love them. When correcting my kids, I labor to make sure that they feel and experience love from me. I want my daughters to feel loved by me and to not look for inappropriate love from another man. I want my sons to know that I love them and value them.”

What’s your list, dad?

#3. Autopsy of a Deceased Church & Can a Dying Church Find Life?

“If a church is dying, it cannot then by definition find life.

I must say from a pure statistical perspective, most churches with the symptoms I noted will die within a matter of a few years. Though I don’t have hard data, I would be comfortable suggesting that the percentage exceeds 99 percent.

But among the American churches on a death march, there is that rare exception, that one in 1,000, that extraordinary situation where a church defies all the man-made odds and moves from near death to health. Those churches are rare, but they do exist.”

 

#4. Haunting Headlines. . . 

I wrote some thoughts about one issue here.

Related, here are other headlines that remind me that “This is My Father’s World” and the world I/we have been sent into with the Gospel:

“God Bless You, Planned Parenthood” – President Obama

The First Lady Tweets Support of NBA Star ‘Coming Out’

Suicide Rates among the Middle Aged Rise Sharply

 

#5. Is Your Church Ready to Reach the Unchurched?

“Almost every church I know says they want to reach unchurched people. But few are actually doing it. Part of the problem stems from the fact that many churches don’t really understand unchurched people… And part of the problem is that our model of church is designed to reach and help churched people, not unchurched people. Churches haven’t embraced change deeply enough.”

If you are a member of FBC El Dorado – put #3, #4, and #5 together. What do you think it will take for us to reach our city? Our world?

Help us, Jesus. We need YOU!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Free Flow Fridays!!!

  1. Richard McClendon says:

    As to number three, the music programs is killing a lot of churches.  When you can hear the drum a block down the street, that does not help.

    Richard

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

