Wisdom for Your Wednesday

Do you have anyone in your life who will speak truth to you no matter what?

Think about it: Wouldn’t you rather people tell you the truth, instead of just being nice to avoid a conflict? I mean, if I’ve got something dangling from my nose, or if my zipper is halfway down to my knees, or if there is toilet paper stuck to my shoe, I WANT TO KNOW ABOUT IT!

Unknown

Similarly, if something I did or said was wrong or crossed a line or wasn’t funny – and I am oblivious to it – I need to know. If there are behaviors that are negatively affecting important relationships in my life – and there are things I can do to improve them – I need to know. Hello? We ALL have blind spots in our lives. In other words, all of us have things in our lives needing work that we are blind to. The only way we can grow to be better is to see them and deal with them. Wise people strive to.

The author of Proverbs knows this. Consider:

In the end, people appreciate honest criticism far more than flattery.” Proverbs 28:23

Translation: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

Also, “Those who trust their own insight are foolish, but anyone who walks in wisdom is safe.Proverbs 28:26

Translation: Let others do unto you that you would like to do for them.

Bottom line: Wise people want honest criticism so they can grow; and to walk in wisdom means to not trust yourself, but getting honest feedback from others.

Ask the Lord to put someone in your life that can help you walk in wisdom.

Check that.

First ask the Lord to give you humility to receive the truth from a loving friend.

What’s at stake? Oh, just being the complete person that God made you to be. That’s all.

One thought on “Wisdom for Your Wednesday

  1. Ilene Harral says:

    Matt, I liked your comments on honest, helpful criticism and hope people also will watch the video about our own oil and gas drilling abilities and needs in this country. Oil is over $112 a barrel today, according to Pat Robertson.

    Is the Twitter comment from the professor who had to sit on a plane by a Bama fan referring to Obama or U of Alabama? One would be worse for me than the other!

    Honestly, Ilene

Leave a Reply

