Five @ Free Flow Friday!

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh, Friday.

It’s only a four-day week, but MAN it feels like it has gone on forever! (Anybody else feeling that?!?!?).images

This is the day where I sit back and let others write and do the thinking for me. Below are Five articles that have been Flowing through my mind this week. There’s something here for just about anybody (even rednecks).

Enjoy.

#1. Thinking Evangelically about Tim Tebow by Jared Wilson

I fear that the Tebow-mania is just another manifestation of the way evangelicals think cultural cache and celebrity influence is vital to the cause of Christ. When I read the Bible, I see the opposite, actually, how God uses the low, the weak, the despised, the cultural cast-offs to further his kingdom. I am not against Christians in the entertainment or athletic spotlights, of course, but I am against the idolization of these people, which I think much of our fandom becomes.

What do you think about this? Agree? Disagree? Comment below. . .

#2. Yes, Millenialls, You Need the Local Church by James Dwyer

Many Millennials fear being “domesticated” by the local church—that being involved will quench any passion for God or put out the flames of faith. For many, it’s not God that is the issue, it’s the Church. The idea of living an adventurous life for God, following where He leads and stepping out in faith is, for many, a juxtaposition of what life in the local church is like. . . Yet the local church holds a key place in the life of any Christian.

Know any Millenials who need this article? Pass it on!

#3. Falling Asleep While Praying by Adam Ford

Click the link – you’ll be glad you did.

I love this! Not that I have ever fallen asleep while praying, I have just heard of others who struggle. 🙂

#4. Is This Both the Smartest and the Dumbest Generation? by Peter Lawler

Because they rely so much on screens keeping them connected, they can’t rely on themselves. Because they’re constantly restless or stimulated, they don’t know what it is to enjoy civilized leisure. The best possible punishment for an adolescent today is to make him or her spend an evening alone in his or her room without any screens, devices, or gadgets to divert him or her. It’s amazing the extent to which screens have become multidimensional diversions from what we really know about ourselves.

Any suggestions for how to stop the madness?

#5. 5 Lessons “Duck Dynasty” Can Teach Your Church by Lauren Hunter

The entire Duck Dynasty empire all began with one duck call. A solution to one small problem became the jumping off point for a huge brand with a plethora of products.

How has God empowered your church to be creative in the way it reaches into the community and beyond? There might be one small thing your church is really good at, and that might be what God has called it to do. By opening the door to creativity, you never know what might be possible.”

This makes me, “Happy, Happy, Happy.” Can you think of any other lessons the church can learn from the bearded duck men?

7 thoughts on “Five @ Free Flow Friday!

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    If you don’t look at anything else, do not skip “Falling Asleep While Praying”

  2. Rodney Wimberly says:

    Psalms 63:6 (NKJV): “When I remember You on my bed, I meditate on You in the night watches.”

  3. Libby says:

    I just have to share a story with you! Years ago at a ladies retreat, the ladies in my cabin were up very late talking and having a wonderful time. It was well passed the time we should have been asleep. Finally we all settled into our bunks, lights were turned out, but many of us were still taking quietly to one another. Then one of the eldest ladies with us said, “Let’s all say our prayers and we will surely fall asleep!” She was immediately horrified at what she had said! Most of us laughed and then began our silent prayers and…fell asleep.

  4. johnny.isbell says:

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

  5. Connie says:

    Where DO you find all of these great articles?

  6. J.B. says:

    I agree 100% on the Tebow article. I had to retweet it 🙂 I’ve been saying since before he was drafted that if he makes it in the NFL it will be because he has the willingness to move to fullback. We will see if he is willing to swallow his pride and modify his “lifelong dream”. I still love the guy as a brother, and I want to see him succeed.

  7. Becky Isbell says:

    Dear Pastor Matt,
    I like the article about lying down and praying! Many times, I have found that while I am stressing about life, He begins to calm my thoughts. Before I know what happened, I wake up rested and ready to start a new day! I will admit, though, I’ve noticed this happens more as I am growing “older”!
    I would also recommend lying face down on the floor or a bed and lifting up prayers and seeking God’s answers to problems in life.
    We also always prayed with each of our children when we were telling them “Good Night”!
    Johnny’s stories about his childhood seemed to also make them sleepy. Ha!
    Looking forward to your next issue,
    Becky

Leave a Reply

