Wisdom for Your Wednesday

“Without wise leadership, a nation falls; there is safety in having many advisers.” Proverbs 11:14

images

Last night, on the eve of one of the greatest tragedies ever to occur on American soil, President Barak Obama addressed the nation regarding the events surrounding Syria. 

As I watched and listened, my my flooded with thoughts:

  • “Man, he is aging so fast.”
  • “He has HUGE ears.” (Well, I did. Might as well be honest about it. It takes one to know one!)
  • “I am so glad I am not him.”
  • “He is very wise to take this to Congress and to listen to the American people.” (Before you judge, read the verse from Proverbs 11 again.)
  • “Like him or not . . . Agree with him or not, our Sovereign God put him in this position.” (See Romans 13:1)
  • “I so wish he was more consistent regarding children.” He was obviously affected by the images he had seen of children dying in Syria due to an evil dictator’s evil regime. The President even urged us to view images and videos so it would affect us. Oh how I wish he would feel this same way about children in the wombs of women in our country. Oh God, help him to see!
  • “I am sure I am inconsistent on so many levels, too.” The Spirit quickly reminded me, however, that I am consistently inconsistent too. I am sure I say and do things that contradict themselves all the time. Oh God, help me to see!
  • “I have GOT to pray for him more.” 1 Timothy 2:2 demands it. Proverbs 21:1 prompts it. Last night was a reminder. But really, we Christians do not have a choice. It is our responsibility – and TREMENDOUS privilege – to pray for our President. 
  • “Where are my priorities?” Know what I was doing while I watched? Eating a popsicle. It was a Honey and Greek Yogurt popsicle . . . but still. Okay, so I had two. But here’s the thing. The President mentioned hundreds of thousands of Syrians having been killed through this whole deal and countless others fleeing as refugees. I am not sure, but I assume between 95-99% of those who have died are now in hell. Syria is not currently a Christian nation. Know why? One reason is because people like me are sitting in their chairs eating a popsicle. Okay, popsicles. The Lord did not allow me to live in the USA just to sit and eat popsicles (though I am very thankful that I can). He did it so I would play a role in doing this. Father, help me. 
  • “I wonder where he goes after he walks down the hall? Does he go drink a Diet Coke and eat junk food until bed time?” (Well, I did. I know that’s what I would want to do after having a one way conversation with the world.)

What were some of your thoughts as you watched our President give his speech last night? 

 

One thought on “Wisdom for Your Wednesday

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    ““Where are my priorities?” …But here’s the thing. The President mentioned hundreds of thousands of Syrians having been killed through this whole deal and countless others fleeing as refugees. I am not sure, but I assume between 95-99% of those who have died are now in hell. Syria is not currently a Christian nation. Know why? One reason is because people like me are sitting in their chairs eating a popsicle. …”

    p.s. did not watch his, or any politician’s, lies, excuse me, speech

Leave a Reply

