Five @ Free Flow Friday!

Happy Friday Everyone!

This week features 5 articles related to Marriage and Family. Feel free to dialogue in the comments section regarding thoughts that come across your mind as you read. I’d love to know what you think and/or get wisdom from you regarding various matters. So, 3-2-1 – GO!

images

#1. Romanticizing Adoption? Don’t Do It! by Dan Cruver

But adoption always involves suffering. Just ask any birthmother or any child who is one of three hundred orphans in a Chinese orphanage or any adoptive couple who has lived with infertility for years or any adoptive couple who is experiencing the high-ups and low-downs of the adoption process.

Wise words here about Adoption AND the Gospel.

#2. Wisdom and Sex: Proverbs 5:1-23 by Thomas Schreiner

Amazing words. No one can read these words and think the Bible condemns sexual pleasure. Sometimes Christians are more squeamish and prudish than the Bible is. As Derek Kidner says, “It is highly important to see sexual delight in marriage as God-given; and history confirms that when marriage is chiefly viewed as a business arrangement, not only is God’s bounty misunderstood, but human passion seeks other outlets.” The Bible is clear. We are to rejoice in the wife of your youth.

Tremendous article for the non-Christian AND the Christian ‘churched’ person. What do you think about what Schreiner says?

#3. How Much of Your Past Do You Share with Your Children? by Aimee Byrd

The pastor pointed out a recent study that reveals telling your kids about your sinful past can make them more likely to commit the same sins. He said I may be right about them thinking that mom and dad turned out fine, so why not try it. Like a good little student I went home and did some research. The study shows that telling your children about your past drug use does make them more likely to try it themselves, even if you are using yourself as an example to teach a lesson.

So it has been on my mind. Do I rely on the study? I don’t want to lie. Is it really going to help my kids to only find out the truth as adults that I told them I was somebody I wasn’t? I do care about credibility in the relationship. And I don’t want to hinder the truth about God’s grace. Frankly, I am where I am now because despite myself, God has been gracious. Sure, there have been consequences. But I didn’t get what I deserved and I know it.

Thoughts? Wisdom from those of you who have ‘been there and done that’?

#4. 6 Things I’ll Try to Teach My Daughter by Arian Foster (NFL star for the Texans)

When my daughter Zeniah arrived, I had a little ball of life staring at me. . . I’ve thought long and hard about the values that I want to try and teach her. I’m sure this list will change as we both grow, but as of now this is what daddy wants his princess to learn from him before she tucks him away into her memory.

What are your thoughts about his 6th ‘Thing’?

What’s on your list of the values you want to pass on to your children? Do you have a list?

#5. 9 (More) Things You Should Know about Duck Dynasty by Joe Carter

Why Duck Dynasty matters: Poised to be the biggest cable show of all time,Duck Dynasty is the highest rated show on TV to consistently portray a family that is unapologetic about their Christian faith and their affection for one another. The pop culture phenomenon is making it harder for television executives to ignore the demand for shows that portray families who put God first in their lives.

What’s not to love? Don’t some of these things make you ‘Happy, Happy, Happy’?

6 thoughts on “Five @ Free Flow Friday!

  1. Ilene Harral says:

    I believe children thrive best when they do know what their parents believe; Arian Foster may be wrong in his # 6 thinking. It seems best when families go to the same church together, when Dad and Mom agree on their beliefs, and when children are secure in “Whose” they are. They’ll be happy, happy, happy!

    Ilene

  2. Tracy Mills says:

    So, I’m a Houston Texans fan and have great respect for Arian Foster as a football player. Most of what he said in that article was awesome but when it comes to number 6, I get the feeling that he doesn’t really understand his own beliefs. When you are truly passionate about something, be it Christianity, Islam, or what ever, you can’t help but pass those beliefs on to your children. By staying out of it and letting her make her own decision I hear him saying I don’t have strong enough beliefs myself to convince my child that I am right. Just my thoughts.

  3. Becky Isbell says:

    Thanks again, Pastor Matt, for “stirring up our brains”!
    Our four kids know some of the most important stuff about how we grew up. My mother and Dad divorced when I was only six years old…too young to understand why I heard my Mom crying into her pillow every night for a long time. I “grew up” pretty fast, and was my Mom’s helper, baby sitter, water carrier, and “grown up girl”! I also adjusted to three different step-dads through the years. No foodstamps, WIN, etc. etc. back then! Mom sewed for her living.

    Johnny’s family was very different in that they were a loving, hard-working family who believed in Jesus Christ, (hard-shelled Baptist) as his Mother used to say, and also helped Johnny learn about earning his way at the young age of nine as a paper boy. We have shared our faith, importance of a family being involved in church, and our work ethics with all of our children and six grandchildren. We still share our prayer needs with each other even now!
    The love and faith we share makes me Happy, Happy, Happy!!
    We all are “adopted” because of what Jesus was willing to do for each of us!
    I agree with Ilene and Tracy about the Houston football player and his “beliefs”.

    In His Love and Service,
    Becky

  4. Elizabeth Haynes says:

    On how much do you share with your kids, I’ve chosen to be open with my daughter. We have discussed many issues. No I don’t give her every little detail, but she knows a lot of my past because she was old enough to see some of it. . We study history in hopes not to repeat it. Some have to learn the hard way no matter what we try. My biggest goal is to have my daughter in the word and know God so deeply that there isn’t a void there for her to search and try to fill with everything but God. That’s what I did for many years, and she knows its by God’s grace that I am back in church. She’s understands that because God used her to do so. I explained to her a lot of my choices where trying to fill an emptiness or void… And the only thing that can fill it is God.

  5. Erin says:

    While I think Arian Foster made some excellent points, his views of spiritual beliefs are kind of contradictory (in my opinion). He places it on his “top 6” list, but then says he’s basically not going to talk about it with his daughter. If there’s no talking about it, how will she learn how important it is? How will she know that she needs to make that decision? I almost suspect that, by making “the list,” it may be important to him, but there may be some fear of going public with his beliefs. I mean, we’ve all observed how this has panned out for Tim Tebow…..

  6. J.B. says:

    Foster’s #6 is not very loving if you believe that Jesus is the only way (which I do). But if he himself is not a professing Christian, then I can’t blame him for the folly.

Leave a Reply

