Now THAT’s a Good Question!

What are the top 10 books you believe every Christian should read?

I LOVE to read. So I love questions like these. Read it again. The question was not to list my personal top 10 favorites (though some are included here). The question asked is to list the top 10 books I believe EVERY CHRISTIAN should read. Great question.

In no particular order, here you go. . .

#1. The Cross of Christ by John Stott 

images-1

Why? Will help you understand with great clarity and power what all happened when Jesus died.

#2. The Holiness of God by R.C. Sproul

Why? Will help you better understand the greatness of our God.

#3. One Thing You Can’t Do in Heaven by Mark Cahill

Why? Will challenge, encourage, and aid you in personal evangelism.

#4. Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem (or at least his much shorter book Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know)

Why? Incredible resource to help you to biblically think through crucial Christian doctrines.

#5. The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers HIs Name by Sally Lloyd-Jones

Why? Will help you see how Jesus is tied to everything in the Bible.

#6. Reading God’s Story: A Chronological Daily Bible compiled by George Guthrie

Why? Every Christian should read the Bible through at least once. This resource seriously helps the Christian do just that.

#7. The Treasure Principle: Unlocking the Secret of Joyful Giving by Randy Alcorn

Why? Short, but powerful book on how Christians should view money.

#8. I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude that Makes the Difference by Thom Rainer

Why? Short, but potent counsel on how believers should view being a part of a local body of believers.

#9. The Purpose-Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For? by Rick Warren

Why? It’s got it all in a way that only Rick Warren can say it. If you haven’t read it, I promise it will serve you well to do so.

#10. Operation World: The Definitive Prayer Guide to Every Nation by Jason Mandryk

Why? The best resource available to inform the Christian on how to pray for all the nations of the earth.

I truly believe if you would add one of these books to your reading list per year for the next 10 years – your understanding of the Christian life and what it means to follow Jesus will be greatly enhanced.

What would you add to the list? Again, consider the question. Not, “What are your favorite books?” But, “What are the ones you believe every Christian should read?”

11 thoughts on “Now THAT’s a Good Question!

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    “Secrets of the Secret Place” by Bob Sorge

  2. J.B. says:

    Great list, bro. I have read a couple of these and can attest. I will have to check out the rest. The only ones I would probably add would be Donald Whitney’s “Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life”, David Platt’s “Follow Me”, and Louie Giglio’s “The Air I Breathe”.

    • I haven’t read Giglio’s book yet. Why was it so impactful for you and what should every Christian read it?

      • J.B. says:

        I’m a worship leader, the book is about worship. Need I say more? Seriously though, I have always noticed at church during the “worship” time (I use quotations because that is a misused phrase; worship is not just singing, it’s what we were made for) the majority of the congregation just stands there, usually not singing. I’m not saying people need to be jumping over pews, but there should be some excitement over the One who saved you from sin and death. But I had always written it off, thinking well maybe that’s because worship is my “gift”. Well that book reaffirmed my thoughts, and showed me some examples. Like how a grown man can get really excited about a football game or a teenage girl can go crazy at a Beiber concert (he used MJ). That happens impulsively because God has wired us to get excited about something. We all worship, it’s how we are made. The question is “What are we worshipping?” And your public worship is a reflection of your private worship. If you can’t or don’t like to sing, that’s just an excuse. The Bible is very clear on the importance of singing, but it doesn’t give any qualifiers on your tone or pitch. He doesn’t care. Your singing filters through Jesus and sounds beautiful to God’s ears. Sorry for the soapbox. I think every Christian should read this book because it will open up your eyes to what God has made you for, and what pleases Him.

  3. Becky Isbell says:

    Becky
    We especially like “The Inspirational Study Bible”, New King James Version, General Editor, Max Lucado. Extra thoughts and references are added to most of the pages, written by Christian authors, making the Bible even easier to understand.
    Also, a good friend gave me a wonderful small daily devotional book by Sarah Young, “Jesus Calling”. I am using it to also guide me into prayer. There is another small book which has inspired my prayer life through the years: “What Happens When Women Pray”, by Eugenia Price. Wow! And I have a whole collection of Beth Moore books.
    That is enough for now…I love a good book!

    • Is there one out called ‘What Happens when Men Pray?’ 🙂

      • Becky Isbell says:

        Hm-m-m, Pastor Matt, I will check that out! Also, the book What Happens When Women Pray is by Evelyn Christenson, not Eugenia Price. Many successful, small prayer groups have been formed throughout our country using this book. He does answer prayers! You came to El Dorado!
        Becky

  4. Shelley Forbess says:

    One of my personal favorites is Intimacy with the Almighty by Charles Swindoll. Another great one is The Inner Life by Andrew Murray (I think….). I also think every Christian should read The Chronicles of Narnia and The Lord of the Rings. LOTR isn’t a Christian allegory but has deep biblical themes.

  5. Well, I certainly agree that a book introduced to me several years ago by Dr. P…”The Jesus Storybook Bible” has to be a MUST read for everyone! I’d also add “10 Secrets for a Successful Family” by Dr. Adrian Rogers for anyone that is raising kids…it is an older book and easy read but lays a Biblical foundation for parents.
    Within the last 3-4 years Radical by Platt and Crazy Love by Chan both “rocked this old Deacon’s world” and jolted me out of my comfort zone and into an awareness of what true Christianity really looks like. Unfortunately, I can be like the “frog in the frying pan” and get used to the perspective of the world…both of these will certainly take you away from that.
    Still waiting for the newest #1 book by Dr. P…I am sure it will be on my list. Good stuff bro.

Leave a Reply

