Wisdom for Your Wednesday

“The Lord has made everything for its purpose,
    even the wicked for the day of trouble.”

Proverbs 16:4

images

Can I be real for a minute?

I don’t mind the first part of this verse. Yes. Yes. Yes. “The Lord has made everything for its purpose.” Preach on, brother. Amen.

I could preach that this Sunday and get a whole bunch of ‘Amens.’ Ain’t nobody gotta problem with that.

But even though the second half of the verse is implied in the first – none of us tend to go where this writer goes. I mean, why not say, “even the righteous for the day of glory”? Again – he could get all kinds of “Amens!” . . . especially from us Baptists.

But that’s NOT what he says, is it?

If the first half of the verse is true (“Amen!” remember?), then the second half HAS to be true. But he doesn’t have to come out and say it, does he? Geez. Nobody – I mean nobody – likes to think that God makes the wicked for a day of trouble.

But apparently . . . He does. . . make them. . . for that.

According to Proverbs 16:4 God makes wicked people specifically for a day of trouble.

What are we supposed to do with that? It’s so “matter of fact.”

I want to bring my questions.

I want to bring my, “but what about . . . ? “

I want to . . . focus on the first half of the verse.

But I can’t. It’s there. In all the translations. Yeah, even the King Jimmy.

There are a lot of things that could be said about this verse. A lot of questions and comments to make about it.

But could it be that the “wisdom” found in this wisdom verse is to accept it as it is – putting our issues and questions aside – and simply declare: “God is God and we are not”?

Wouldn’t that be the wise thing to do?

I mean, why do we read Proverbs in the first place? To get wisdom from God, or to offer Him our wisdom on things?

Can I be real again?

Maybe it reveals my own foolishness by just liking the first half of the verse. Who am I to say that I don’t like the second part? After all, I am the one needing wisdom. Perhaps if I let God tell me how He has ordained to run the world – then a wise life MIGHT begin to take root.

Isn’t that the point, anyway? I mean, He makes everything and He defines their purpose.

Why?

Because He’s God.

2 thoughts on “Wisdom for Your Wednesday

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    It was this very thing, in the book All the King’s Men, that the wise old lawyer uses to prove the existence of God to the young skeptic.

  2. Becky Isbell says:

    Dear Pastor Matt,
    This post has reminded me of the book by M. Scott Peck, M.D., “People of the Lie” (Hope for Healing Human Evil), and his first book, “The Road Less Traveled”. I read “The Road Less Traveled” a long time ago; and when the subject came up again recently, I found “The People of the Lie”. Dr. Peck deals with the fact that we all are subject to evil, both in our thoughts and deeds. I am still struggling my way through the second book!

    I have also been reading the book you suggested, “Bringing the Gospel Home” by Randy Newman. I am halfway through it and find it very interesting! Mr.Newman makes references to Dr. Peck’s books in his writings also. Basically, we Christians have a difficult time dealing with this subject, and we stumble around when trying to explain how belief in Jesus Christ can change a life and open our eyes to God’s forgiveness!

    And yet, He promises that even a child can understand God’s Love for each of us!
    WOW! Still blows my mind!

    Thanks for your help in these times and situations! (This has been an interesting week in ICU, El Dorado…and the connection to my friend in Houston, Debbie!)
    In His Love and Service,
    Becky

Leave a Reply

