Wisdom for Your Wednesday

7 Two things I ask of you;
deny them not to me before I die:
8 Remove far from me falsehood and lying;
give me neither poverty nor riches;
feed me with the food that is needful for me,
9 lest I be full and deny you
and say, “Who is the Lord?”
or lest I be poor and steal
and profane the name of my God.

Proverbs 30:7-9

images

Balance.

Biblical Balance.

Oh how much wisdom is found here: “give me neither poverty nor riches”!

This man knew himself. This man knew that if he was struck with poverty – he would steal. If he was given riches – he would be too full to acknowledge a need for God. Therefore – in order to please the Father – he longed for balance.

Wisdom is seeking balance in order to most honor our Lord.

Doesn’t this help with questions like – “How much should a Christian give away?” or “How much money is too much?” or “Is it wrong to have a big house or two houses or  a nice car or three cars?” or “Should I give it all away to the poor?”

According to wisdom, would it not serve us better to pray: “Father, give me what I need to best honor, serve, love, and obey You” or “Father, keep me financially balanced, knowing my sinful tendencies, so I might never deny You in thought or deed”?

Wisdom doesn’t ask, “How much is too much?” or “How much should I give?”  No, no.

A wise person knows his/herself and seeks a balance between sinful extremes.

Where are you on the spectrum? Which extreme do you tend toward? Are you breaking commands because of your financial situation? Are you ignoring God due to your financial circumstances?

What financially wise and balanced thing can you do immediately to best honor the Lord?

One thought on “Wisdom for Your Wednesday

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    Polonius:

    “This above all: to thine own self be true,
    And it must follow, as the night the day,
    Thou canst not then be false to any man.
    Farewell, my blessing season this in thee!”

    Hamlet Act 1, scene 3

Leave a Reply

