Five @ Free Flow Friday!

I certainly hope you have had an incredible week.

Let’s kick off the weekend with some random reading, shall we?

Below you’ll find articles ranging from football to liberal atheists to church love to coffee.

Have an awesome weekend!

images

#1. The Great Southern Idol? by John Thweatt

I wonder when the worship of Jesus will be more exciting to the people of God than any football game? I equally wonder what will happen the moment we enter eternity. I am not going to try to prove this theologically, but I wonder if after that first second in glory what we would think about our earthly pursuits.

Oh my. That hurt. 

#2. Baylor’s Art Briles is Built to Last by Mark Schlabach

Briles embraced the underdog role after that tragic day so many years ago, when his life was shattered in an instant as a 20-year-old. It was an experience that taught him to recognize unseen potential in jobs nobody else wanted and allowed him to convince the people around him that they were capable of accomplishing anything.

‘It was kind of a hopeless time, to say the least,’ Briles said. ‘It kind of jolts the soul and spirit, you know? All of the sudden, you look down and there’s not a net anymore. When you’re falling, you’re falling. One day everything is good and then the next day you’re wondering where you’re going for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Fortunately, I’d been raised right long enough to understand that there’s a purpose in life.’

There’s something about “going there” with your worst fear that propels you to live life fearlessly and with aggression. Know what I mean?

#3. Fox News’ Highly Reluctant Jesus Follower by Kirsten Powers

A few months into our relationship, my boyfriend called to say he had something important to talk to me about. I remember exactly where I was sitting in my West Village apartment when he said, ‘Do you believe Jesus is your Savior?’ My stomach sank. I started to panic. Oh no, was my first thought. He’s crazy.

When I answered no, he asked, ‘Do you think you could ever believe it?’ He explained that he was at a point in life when he wanted to get married and felt that I could be that person, but he couldn’t marry a non-Christian. I said I didn’t want to mislead him—that I would never believe in Jesus.”

A fascinating article. GREAT motivation to be intentional in your conversations with unbelievers. 

#4. 10 Love Challenges by David Murray

All Christians want to bless the church, witness to the world, and grow in assurance of faith. But did you know that there’s one thing you can do that accomplishes all three of these aims at once?

Love other Christians.

Yes, loving other Christians produces the triple benefit of encouraging believers, evangelizing unbelievers (Jn. 13:35), and assuring ourselves that we are believers (1 Jn. 3:14, 19).

#5. Will There Be Coffee In Heaven? by Randy Alcorn

But consider the facts. God made coffee. Coffee grows on Earth, which God made for mankind, put under our management, and filled with resources for our use. When God evaluated his creation, he deemed coffee trees, along with all else, to be ‘very good.’ Many people throughout history have enjoyed coffee—even in a fallen world where neither coffee nor our taste buds are at their best.

God tells us that he ‘richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment’ (1 Timothy 6:17). Does ‘everything’ include coffee? Paul also says, ‘For everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving, because it is consecrated by the word of God and prayer’ (1 Timothy 4:4-5).

And all God’s people said, “AMEN!”

One thought on “Five @ Free Flow Friday!

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    I have given this much thought since reading Kirsten’s article. I hate to sound like this, but is is full of nothing but that touchy feely gobbledook she learned in the Clinton Administration and, in my opinion properly belongs in “Christianity Today” because her story is a tale of late 20th and early 21st century Christianity. I see where she says Jesus came to her, but never her coming to Him and accepting Him as her Lord and Savior. The Bible teaches us that the forces of darkness know precisely who He is, they just do not accept Him.

    Knowing is not the same as believing, trusting, and accepting that His blood and only His blood which covers us makes us righteous before Abba Father.

Leave a Reply

