Five @ Free Flow Friday!

Can I get a “Hallelujah It’s Friday!!!!!!” from anyone?????

I know I am lovin’ me some Friday today! I’ve got a mixture of articles for your weekend reading pleasure. The titles say it all. . .

Enjoy!

Unknown

#1. So, ‘Atheist Megachurches’ Are Apparently a Thing by Danny Franks

I don’t come to church because I get to sing, or talk to strangers, or have one more thing on my calendar. As a matter of fact, as one who’s more of an introvert, those things make the weekend a challenge for me. No, I sing and talk to strangers and schedule ‘church’ because of the One the church is built upon. It’s the life of Jesus that informs my church life.

The point of church has never been to simply sing or gather or give. Yes, those things are a part of it. But the point of church is to point to Jesus. And without Jesus as the center, without someone who serves as the recipient of what we do, I remain…baffled.”

What would YOU say is the point of church? 

 

#2. 3 Biggest Regrets of Billy Graham’s Life by Aaron Earls

I would also spend more time in spiritual nurture, seeking to grow closer to God so I could become more like Christ. I would spend more time in prayer, not just for myself but for others. I would spend more time studying the Bible and meditating on its truth, not only for sermon preparation but to apply its message to my life. It is far too easy for someone in my position to read the Bible only with an eye on a future sermon, overlooking the message God has for me through its pages.

Wow. Just wow.

 

#3. IMB Missionaries Share Story of Miraculous Survival by Caroline Anderson

Miller said it was important to go through the tragedy with her neighbors, rather than leaving and letting the neighbors go through the tragedy alone. If they did that, Miller said, ‘You come back as an outsider to minister.’

Instead, the Millers experienced the life-changing disaster with the people they love and serve. Without cell phone access or electricity, they heard they could make phone calls at the airport. On Monday, they set off on foot, walking for several miles.

They found their beloved city decimated.”

Incredible story of missionaries going to the heart of destruction in the Philippines to minister. Lord, make my heart like theirs!

 

#4. Seven Habits of a Highly Effective Date Night by Matt Heerema

The following is a quick brainstorm I had the other day on essential elements of a good date night. Of course, not every week goes like this, and of course we miss a week here and there (though I think we’ve missed only a dozen or two date nights in that 10.5 years). Finding a baby sitter is usually difficult, but it’s worth every ounce of effort and every penny of money.”

Great advice here. What else would you add to his list?

 

#5. The Top 20 Countries Where Christianity is Growing the Fastest from Disciple All Nations

 

The primary growth factor in Asia is conversion growth. China, Nepal, Cambodia and Mongolia have high conversation rates among their indigenous people.  The majority of becoming Christians come from non-religious, Buddhist and Hindu backgrounds. The conversion rate is two to eight times higher (in the case of China) than rate of population growth. Currently China has the third highest number of Christians in the world, following the United States and Brazil. Keep your eye on China. If the high growth rate continues, China may become the country with the most Christians by 2030.”

Fascinating research about what God is doing around the world.

 

Leave a Reply

