Wisdom for Your Wednesday

“He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the LORD.”

Proverbs 18:22

IMG_1277

I read this verse 14 years ago today – the morning I did one of the smartest things I have ever done. . . married Kathryn Elizabeth Bellows.

Yep. I remember reading this during my morning devotion on my wedding day. It was if the LORD was saying – “You are one blessed dude, Matt. You don’t deserve her, but by sheer grace I am bestowing favor on you and giving you a good thing.”

Though I have skipped some days, if I read this Proverb every month for the past 14 years (which has been my goal) – I will have read this truth 168 times. There is wisdom in this verse, men. Much, much wisdom. It is a good, wise reminder for me – here on this ‘blessed’ 18th day of December. That is, our wives are GOOD things; and they represent FAVOR from the LORD Himself.

Translation (for men who are a bit ‘slow’): Wives are Gifts of God’s GRACE!!!!

Read Proverbs 18:22 again. Do you see your wife in this light? Do you treat her as a good thing? Do you honor her as being a gift of favor from God? Unless I have been misreading this Proverb for 14 years – that’s exactly what she is.

Wisdom says to remember what your wife is: A Good Thing! God’s Gift of Favor to You!

Remember this men! Do whatever you have to do to keep this reality in front of you all the time!

Perhaps if I keep reading this Proverb – and constantly remind myself of God’s grace in giving her to me – she’ll stay with me another 14. . . and then another . . . and then another.

Happy Anniversary, Katie. You are a Good, Good Thing Indeed!

5 thoughts on “Wisdom for Your Wednesday

  1. Becky Isbell says:

    Dear Pastor Matt,
    You are smarter than you Look!!! We think it is going to last!

    Happy Anniversary, Dear Katie and Matt! ….and many more…….

    Becky and Johnny

  2. Happy anniversary to two of the best examples I’ve ever known! Thankful for the two of you! Enjoy it! 🙂

  3. Rodney Wimberly says:

    Happy Anniversary Katie, you too Pastor. We could not be the men we are were if it not for the women that support us, didn’t say understand us, said support us, that when all the world has abandoned us, yes The Lord will be there that goes without saying, but to know that there is another human, no matter how much she may not understand you, or how angry you make her because she doesn’t understand you, will be right there at your side, believieving in you.

    Again, Happy Anniversary Katie and Pastor

  4. Danny says:

    Ahhh…then that makes it 14 years ago today that I wore a robe. And found out what a “stole” is.

    But I should point out it took Katie 3 of the first 14 years to get down that forever-long church aisle.

  5. Libby says:

    Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

