Now THAT’s a Good Question! (Part 1)

What are your favorite books from 2013?

Whoah. Now THAT’s a good question! It’s no secret here on the blog that I absolutely LOVE to read. Call me a nerd – I don’t care. I. Love. To. Read. I consider reading. . . wait for it . . . my . . . hobby. There. I said it.

It’s not difficult for me to recommend some books from my personal reading. What’s hard is narrowing the books down. I want to give you my top 10 books. 5 today. 5 tomorrow. In case there are any smart alecs are out there – this list excludes the Bible. That’s a given, okay? So, in addition to God’s awesome Word – what follows (today and tomorrow) are my top 10 book recommendations from 2013.

           

Unknown

 #10. Wild Things: The Art of Nurturing Boys by Stephen James and David. S. Thomason

If you have boys – any age – click the link above and read this book. You will be prepared, helped, challenged, and ministered to by it.

#9. Start: Punch Fear in the Face, Escape Average, and Do Work that Matters by Jon AcuffUnknown-3

Need a good kick in the pants to get started doing something you’ve always wanted to do? This book will do it, all while making you laugh. Seriously, this is a great and fun read for anybody.

Unknown-1#8. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Yes. It’s true. I started and couldn’t stop. I admit it: Though the third book wasn’t my favorite, I LOVED reading through the first 2 books of this Trilogy. Fun reading for sure!

#7. David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants by Malcolm GladwellUnknown-4

If you’ve never read anything by Gladwell, you should. Start with this book. Especially the first section. Though not intended to be a biblical commentary or spiritual book – the first section is very revealing and telling about what actually took place between the small Israelite and large Philistine on that unforgettable day. It actually sheds light on how God works in and through various situations. Seriously – the first section is worth the price of the book.

Unknown-2

#6. Decisive: How to Make Better Choices in Life and Work by Chip and Dan Heath

I love the way these brothers write and how they compile their research into their writing. This is both a helpful and very insightful read. You will enjoy it and know how to make better decisions along the way!

Okay – there you go. My #’s 6-10 reads for 2013. Tomorrow, God willing, I will list my top 5.

What are some of your favorites?

4 thoughts on “Now THAT’s a Good Question! (Part 1)

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    “The Road To Serfdom” by F.A. Hayek, “The Man In The High Castle” by Philip K. Dick, “This Town” by Mark Leibovic, “Rise of the Warrior Cop” by Radley Balko, “A Government of Wolves” by John W. Whitehead, “The Book of Enoch”, “Animal Farm” by George Orwell, “Secrets of the Secret Place” by Bob Sorge, “The Witness of the Stars” by Dr. E.W. Bullinger

  2. Brady Canright says:

    “Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God” by JI Packer, “Simple Church” by Rainer and Geiger, “One Thing You Cant Do In Heaven” by Mark Cahill, “Victorious Christian Living: Studies on the book of Joshua” by Alan Redpath, “Forgotten God” by Francis Chan, “Call to Resurgence” by Mark Driscoll, “The Freedom of Self-Forgetfulness” by Tim Keller.

  3. Grace George says:

    Reading Authentic Faith now, really awesome book! Plan on reading it twice so I make sure I’m not missing anything! It is one you recommended a few weeks ago, would like to know if there are any others reading it at this time.

  4. […] Yesterday I gave you the bottom half of my top 10 reads from 2013. I know you have been about to bust to know what the top 5 are. Well – wait no more. . . […]

Leave a Reply

