Timothy Tuesdays

The purpose of this blog is to – in another very small way – ‘Intentionally Pastor’ the flock God has entrusted to my care known as the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

photo

Up until this point of my blogging journey – I have done my best to provide thoughts and information that I think would add value to your life on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays. But a glaring deficiency of this site is there is NOTHING posted on Tuesdays! Gasp.
I am quite sure that the 3 or 4 readers I have dread Tuesdays because there is nothing to read.

I’m kidding.

I am not sure if any of you even noticed. For those of you who have, however, the dread of Tuesdays can now dissipate. (Again, I am kidding – humor me by playing along, okay?) Starting today I want to add a Tuesday focused post to the blog.

What might that be, you ask? (Now THAT’s a Good Question – but let’s save those for Mondays.)

It’s what I want to call “Timothy Tuesdays.”

What? Why in the world?

By Timothy I mean the 2 books of the Bible in the New Testament that bear this name. Why? Because ‘Timothy’ and ‘Tuesday’ start with ‘T.’  . . . Duh.

Again, just kidding.

I want to apply and meditate with you on insights from 1st and 2nd Timothy because the church Timothy pastored is much like the one I do.
First, we know the church was multi-generational. How do I know? Well, how would you interpret 1 Timothy 5:1-2??
Second, we know the church had members with a lot of wealth. How do I know? Read 1 Timothy 6:17-19.

I don’t know about you, but I really want to know how God would want a multi-generational church with wealthy members to operate. Don’t you? Like it or not, that’s who we are and how God assembled us here in good ole downtown El Dorado.

So, starting next Tuesday – the first Tuesday of February 2014 – we’ll begin taking a look at what God says to a church a lot like ours. Until then, go celebrate the glorious reality that a weekday will no longer go by without you having something to read.

I’m kidding.

See you tomorrow for some Wisdom for our Wednesday.

12 thoughts on “Timothy Tuesdays

  1. Connie says:

    What a great idea!!! I will eagerly anticipate this addition to your blog line-up. Love, Your Mom 🙂

  2. […] I officially kick off ‘Timothy Tuesdays.’ Why? Go back and read here. In short, I want to look at what an Apostle (Paul) was inspired by God to say to a young pastor […]

  3. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you to […]

  4. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you […]

  5. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you […]

  6. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you […]

  7. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you […]

  8. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you […]

  9. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you […]

  10. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you […]

  11. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you […]

  12. […] the format of the blog. I try to answer a question on Monday, walk through a passage from Timothy on Tuesday, meditate on a Proverb on Wednesday, throw out FBC El Dorado related on Thursday, and point you […]

Leave a Reply

