Wisdom for Your Wednesday

The fear of man lays a snare, but whoever trusts in the LORD is safe.

Proverbs 29:25

It sure is ironic, isn’t it?

If you’re like me – oftentimes I fear man precisely because I want to be kept ‘safe.’

I don’t speak up when I should because I want to be ‘safe.’Unknown

I don’t take action when I should because I want to stay ‘safe.’

I don’t offer my opinion when it matters because it is ‘safer’ to be quiet.

I don’t step up and lead aggressively because I want to maintain ‘safety.’

I don’t say truthful things because I don’t want to rock the ‘safety’ boat.

Know what I mean?

According to wisdom – at the end of the day – that kind of thinking will ultimately rob me of safety. It actually proves to be a snare. When I reject what I know to be right or true or ‘of the Lord,’ in order to stay ‘safe’ from the ‘snares of man,’ I actually step right out of the ‘safety zone’ and fall into a snare.

Does that make sense? Trying to maintain safety with man actually ends up riding you through the danger zone.(Anyone else hearing Kenny Loggins in your mind right now?).

Wisdom says if you are looking to maintain safety – you trust the LORD.

Ironic.

The reason we fear man is to keep ‘safe.’ What happens, however, is we fall into a trap.

We fear man to avoid an awkward ‘snare.’ But the opposite ends up happening. We lose our safety and get stuck.

I don’t know of one single person who – ultimately – doesn’t want guaranteed safety. Wisdom says there is only one way to get it: Trust the LORD.

Want to be set free from being ensnared? Survey your actions and behaviors and words. Search your heart. Where are you currently fearing man? Do your fears have a face? I bet you are doing so to maintain safety. But I also bet it’s trapping you. Step out of the trap and into real safety. Trust the LORD – do what He says and leads you to do – and leave the results to him.

It won’t feel safe. But it is.

Ironic, isn’t it?

One thought on “Wisdom for Your Wednesday

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    We play it “safe” because the two most addictive items on the planet are heroin and a monthly, or weekly, paycheck.

Leave a Reply

