Throw It Out There Thursday!

Today I want to ‘Throw Something Out There’ primarily for parents.

This Sunday morning FBC is going to have another opportunity to participate in a baby dedication.

I LOVE BABY DEDICATIONS!!!images-1

Why?

1. It tells me the parents are serious about raising their child in the ways of the Lord.

2. It holds the church accountable to pray for the baby and his/her parents as they embark on the parenting journey.

3. It reminds me that raising a child in a Christian home really is a community effort. We need each other!

4. I believe God answers our prayers and will do what we ask Him in His name!

5. More babies means more opportunities to share Christ and disciple them in His ways.

I. Love. Baby. Dedications.

One of the things I have started to do when I meet with parents prior to the dedication is to remind them how much time they have with their child before he/she graduates.

There is a GREAT app to help you figure this out here called ‘The Legacy App.’ There is also a tremendous website (from the makers of this app) to aid parents to be intentional with their kids here.

When a child is born, parents have an average of 898 weeks until their child graduates from high school.

That may seem like a lot. But consider this. . .

Luke – my 8 year old 3rd grader – will only be under my roof 428 more weeks. Yeah. For real. This means he has already been under my care for 470 weeks. More than half of what Katie and me have left with him!

The point I want to make with parents is – DON’T WASTE IT!!!! It goes by SO fast!

Baby dedications are awesome.

But they are also frightening reminders.

We don’t have as much time as we think we do during these years.

Parents, how do you need to adjust your schedule so that you have ZERO regrets when they walk across the stage to get their high school diploma?

Those of you who have children out of the house, what wisdom can you ‘Throw Out There’ for us?

Please. Help!

Comment below.

2 thoughts on “Throw It Out There Thursday!

  1. Brandi Connor says:

    I got the app last year after you first mentioned it- I hold my breath now every time I check it!! Only 67 weeks until my oldest graduates from high school. Literally takes my breath away….but I’m living proof that if you train up a child in the way they should go, that even if they stray from that path, they will return! Praying my girls hold close what we’ve taught them, what their Sunday School teachers have taught them, their Pastor and Youth Pastor, and so on. It definitely takes a village! Thanks for sharing, it’s helped me be more intentional with my time with my sweet girls.

  2. Rodney Wimberly says:

    Enjoy and teach your babies today for when you wake up tomorrow morning they will grown!

Leave a Reply

