Five @ Free Flow Friday!

Is it just me, or has this been an extremely LONG week???

Yesterday morning Birti woke up and said, “Daddy, do you have to go to work today?” I said, “Yes, baby, I always go to work this day.” She said, “No you don’t, daddy. You usually get to be home on Fridays.” I hated to tell her the truth, but had to: “Birti, sweetheart, it’s just Thursday. Tomorrow is Friday.”

Day shattered. images

Until breakfast, anyway.

Today?  It. Is. Friday!!!! YES!

Today’s articles can be categorized as “Short, Sweet, and VERY Thought Provoking.” Please note the questions following quotes from the articles and feel free to dialogue in the comment section below.

[Warning: Several of the articles posted are from secular sites. Sometimes the advertisements and links can be a bit . . . shady.]

 

#1. “I Want to Save My Daughter” by Katie Fruge

Instantly my heart encountered shock, terror, and sorrow like I have never known. They allowed my husband and I to have a moment alone to absorb the news before meeting privately with our doctor to discuss our options. My heart sunk further as I listened to the doctor’s ‘medical opinion.’ She never said the word ‘abortion,’ but the suggestion had been made perfectly clear. It was posed with such delicate phrases: ‘My concern is to keep Katie as safe as possible…We need to think about what a delivery could mean for Katie.’ I could hardly listen; I was consumed with begging God to spare my daughter. Was my doctor really telling me my daughter wasn’t worth saving? As soon as I realized her suggestion, I remembered that I had made this choice long ago.

Monday, I wrote about birth control. It brings up a lot of questions to be sure. One of them posed in this article. Obviously, Katie made the right decision in this instance. Is what she decided always the right one? I believe it is. What are your thoughts?

 

#2.”Being Married with Kids and Young Now Deemed ‘Alternative Lifestyle’” by Mollie Hemingway

But isn’t it fascinating that NBC views a man taking care of his wife and daughter as an alternative lifestyle?

I’m glad David Wise won gold, but if this is any indication of media views on normalcy, our society is pretty much doomed.”

Is Hemingway right? Is David Wise normal and the media is crazy? Or, could it be that the media is right and Wise really is in the minority here? Thoughts?

 

#3. “3 Little Ways to Cause Big Change in a Marriage” by Shaunti Feldhahn

But our research has found the opposite trend is true! The last three years, as I’ve been studying what happy couples do differently, for my latest research project and book, The Surprising Secrets of Highly Happy Marriages, it was clear that having a great marriage or healing a broken one is usually dependent on the little things, not the big ones!

Most husbands and wives deeply care about each other (more than 99% in our survey) and are trying very hard – but they don’t realize that they are trying hard in the wrong areas, so they aren’t making the other person feel cared for in the way they think they are.”

If you’re married – please stop, right now, and think about how you might be ‘trying’ in the wrong areas. Now think. What are the ‘little things’ that are the ‘right’ areas?

#4. “Faith-Healing Mom Sentenced in Death of Infant. Nuts or a Good Example?” by Kay Campbell

And why couldn’t Catherine Schaible and her husband have understood medicine as I do, as part of the truth that comes from God as human beings engage their God-given intellects? For me, the development of the antibiotics that could have saved Catherine Schaible’s children was as much a miracle as any laying-on-of-hands.”

This quote contains two of the wisest sentences I have read in a while – outside of the Bible. Our God gets blamed for all kinds of stuff because of our stupidity. Newsflash everybody: HE HAS GIVEN US BRAINS!!!! What are some ways you have seen God get blamed for people’s ignorant stupidity?

 

#5. “The Upside of Selfies: Social Media Isn’t All Bad for Kids” by Kelly Wallace

Eileen Masio, a mom of two in New York, monitors her daughter Amelia’s Instagram account 24/7. Yes, most of the posts are “selfies,” but it’s the comments that make her think there is also a positive to this nonstop engagement.

“I think just as damaging as social media can be, it can … help to build self-confidence, too,” said Masio, during a recent interview including her husband, 13-year-old Amelia and 8-year-old son William.

“When they post selfies, all the comments I usually see are ‘You’re beautiful,’ ‘You’re so pretty,’ ‘Oh my God, gorgeous,'” said Masio.

Honestly, this article breaks my heart. Not because I am anti-‘all things social media.’ But because this article says social media gives teenagers self worth. This article tries to put social media in a good light for our teens by saying it gives teens self worth. NO! That’s a HUGE NEGATIVE!!!! Positive comments from friends may offer some ‘confidence builders,’ sure. But what happens when the comments stop? What happens when the comments beg for ‘more’? What happens when social media goes away? Oh, and by the way, where is our worth found ultimately? What is actually BEST for our teens in helping them develop a healthy self worth?

 

One thought on “Five @ Free Flow Friday!

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    Before we judge the people in #4 too harshly, let us not forget our history, that Baptists were the most persecuted religion in colonial America. Why? Our weird beliefs!

    This is why the First Amendment to the Constitution begins with these words, “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion,…” followed by what I like to call the fly in the ointment, “…or prohibiting the free exercise thereof;…”, which in its entirety reads, “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof;…”

    On January 1, 1802, Thomas Jefferson penned these words to the Danbury Baptists in Connecticut defending their freedom to worship as they saw fit, “Believing with you that religion is a matter which lies solely between Man & his God, that he owes account to none other for his faith or his worship, that the legitimate powers of government reach actions only, & not opinions, I contemplate with sovereign reverence that act of the whole American people which declared that their legislature should “make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof,” thus building a wall of separation between Church & State. Adhering to this expression of the supreme will of the nation in behalf of the rights of conscience, I shall see with sincere satisfaction the progress of those sentiments which tend to restore to man all his natural rights, convinced he has no natural right in opposition to his social duties.”

    Finally, in 1795 Thomas Paine concluded his essay Dissertation On First Principles of Government with these words, “He that would make his own liberty secure, must guard even his enemy from oppression; for if he violates this duty, he establishes a precedent that will reach to himself.”

    If my faith looks completely stupid and idiotic to you, can you imagine how silly yours looks to me?

Leave a Reply

