Now THAT’s a Good Question!

images

Do you have a Personal Life Purpose Statement? Part 2

Last week, I answered:  Should I have a Personal Life Purpose Statement?” (Is it right?)

Today I want to respond to, “Why is it important to have a Personal Life Purpose Statement?” 

And next Monday, on March 17th, I want to answer How do I write my own Personal Life Purpose Statement?” 

The Bible is pretty clear when it comes to the “Why?” piece.

Without it we perish. God made us very purposefully and intricately. We were created for specific, good works.

Along with these, why else is it important to have a personal statement that defines your unique purpose?

1. It will help bring energy into your life.

Having a simple statement that defines who you are will motivate you to focus on that. It clarifies what brings you energy and joy and life. It, if you will, gives you permission to do what God has created you to do!

2. It will clarify your unique value to the world. 

There is only one YOU. Only one. I’ve heard it said, “Don’t try to be someone else because everyone else is already taken.” The world needs you to be YOU. God made you to be YOU for His purposes and glory. He made you and redeemed you to add value to the world for His name’s sake. A personal life purpose statement clarifies what that is, and releases you to do it!

3. It will keep you focused on what you do best.

Another way to say this is, “It keeps you from spending time trying to be good at things you were never intended to be good at.” For instance, I will NEVER be – nor get energy from – a good handyman. Period. I just don’t have what it takes. I’m not wired that way. Seriously. Ask my wife. I’m not. Knowing WHY I am made and then striving to live and develop more in that area keeps me from wasting my time (and life!). Not to mention, it will save my marriage!

4. It reminds you that you cannot do it all. 

If you and I clarify our life’s purpose – it will remind us that we are one tiny piece of the grand picture. We can’t, nor were we intended to, do it all. You are not the only one on the planet. You excel where you thrive and I will excel where I thrive. Doing this together for the purpose of making disciples of all nations to the glory of our great God is a great reminder that we are only a piece of the puzzle. In other words, a life purpose statement is humbling.

5. It reminds us that we are a part of something bigger than we are. 

I cannot do everything. But by God’s good grace I can do something – something that He designed me do to – for His good purposes. He has worked from the beginning of time to see worshippers of His Son from all nations. It will be accomplished and it will last for all of eternity. Think of it: He has designed YOU and ME to play a small, but unique and specific, role in it. Wow.

What else can you think of? Those of you who have a Personal Life Purpose Statement – what are some other reasons you would share as to WHY having one is so important?

 

One thought on “Now THAT’s a Good Question!

  1. […] Second, I felt the need to see if there were strong advantages to having a purpose statement. Answer? Yes. […]

Leave a Reply

