Now THAT’s a Good Question!

images

Do You Have a Personal Life Purpose Statement? Part 3

I’ve taken 3 weeks to answer this question. Do I have one? Yes. Leaving my response at that, however, would not have made for a thrilling blog post. I felt it important to take a little time to explain why and how.

First, we needed to figure out if it is right/okay to try to capture your life purpose in a statement. Answer? Yes.

Second, I felt the need to see if there were strong advantages to having a purpose statement. Answer? Yes.

My Personal Life Purpose Statement is: Matt Pearson exists to help others develop an interest in and crave the Bible – in order to know, obey, and worship God.

This does not mean that this is all I do. Far from it. But it does mean that I believe this is how God has uniquely wired, gifted, and designed me to impact the world. It’s what gives me energy. I love to communicate God’s Word in a way that prompts interest in and increases the challenge in one’s heart to know, obey, and worship God. Whether from the pulpit on Sundays, on the blog during the week, in one on one conversations, in unique moments with my kids, or during in depth conversations with my wife – I love to increase the interest level in the God of the Bible.

I am scared to death of ever being boring. . . and since I get to talk about God and His Word a lot – I should be the LAST person to EVER – EVER – EVER be considered boring. Can I get an “Amen”?

The question that still remains, then, is HOW? How do you craft a Personal Life Purpose Statement?

There are TONS of ways to do this. I have gotten a lot of help from others. I think it best to point you to some extremely helpful resources to get you started. Let me say, however, that this isn’t something that will happen in 30 minutes. It’s also something that will probably change, or need to be adapted over time. So, as you get started – keep 3 words in the back of your mind at all times: Journey, Time, and Fluid. Crafting this will be a journey. It will take lots of time. And the statement itself needs to remain fluid.

When/If you are ready to get started, let me point you to these invaluable resources:

#1. Writing Your Personal Vision by Hugh Whelchel – START HERE!!!!!

Whelchel points to these resources (ALL are helpful):

#2. Seven Habits of Highly Effective People by Steven Covey

#3. Creating Your Personal Life Plan by Michael Hyatt

#4. Tons of helpful (and cheap!) ebooks at Amazon here, here, and here.

REMEMBER: It’s a JOURNEY. It will take TIME. Keep it FLUID.

Now – I have a question for you: “What’s YOUR Personal Life Purpose Statement?”

2 thoughts on “Now THAT’s a Good Question!

  1. Deb Hammond says:

    I’ve been working on it but will read these 3 books u suggested before I share! It’s not what I WANT it to be if that makes sense since I’m home bound a lot but one I feel God is calling me to! Thanks for all the resources! I’m praying for u and ur family daily!

  2. Libby says:

    That is a lot to contemplate! I was hoping for an easy three step outline… I guess if it was that easy we would all already have a purpose statement. Thanks for all that you do!

Leave a Reply

