Now THAT’s a Good Question!

How Can I Know My Spiritual Gift?

images

Okay, okay – so this is a repeat.

Being that I preached on this yesterday morning, however, I thought it would be helpful to post again how I believe you can determine what spiritual gift God has given you.

Using what Peter said in 1 Peter 4:10-11, I aimed to show this AM that using your gifts for the health of the church is actually a direct means by which you experience both the grace AND the power of God. Practicing your God-given gifts, in other words, guarantees closeness and intimacy with God. NOT using and giving your gifts will prohibit that intimacy that God has ordained to happen.

Below is a ‘repost’ from March 2013:

The Bible is clear. Every follower of Jesus has a supernatural gift from God to use to build up the church.

“To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good.” (1 Corinthians 12:7)

“All. . . are empowered by one and the same Spirit, who apportions to each one individuallyas He wills.” (1 Corinthians 12:11)

What’s NOT so clear, sometimes, is what gift you have been given.

How can you know? I don’t think God wants to keep it a secret. I believe He wants His children to know exactly how they have been gifted in order to enjoy it, use it, and find joy in it. On Christmas morning, I don’t get thrills by trying to hide the gifts I have gotten for the kids – hoping they never discover what gifts they have. No. I love the joy that hits my soul when I see the excitement on their faces when they get it. If I, though evil, know how to give gifts to my children. . .

You get the point.

How can we know what spiritual gift God has given us? I encourage you to start by asking and honestly answering the following 5 questions.

1. Would You please show me?

Ask the Father to make it known to you. He wants you to have it, know it, and use it.

See Luke 11:5-13

2. What drives me crazy about my church?

You know what they are. There are things that cause you to go bananas because they are being neglected. There is a reason for that. God may have brought you to that church in order for YOU TO DO IT!

See 1 Corinthians 12:4-7

3. What am I passionate about?

What is it that cranks your tractor? For some, it’s changing a diaper. For others, it is teaching new information to hungry students. For others, it is taking biscuits and gravy to a hungry pastor, uh, I mean a grieving family. You get the point. What do you just LOVE to do?

See Romans 12:11

4. What do those close to me think?

You know it’s true. Those who are closest to you can see strengths and weaknesses in your life better than you can. Ask them what they think is your gift. Talk it over with those who are closest to you. Go ahead. You know you need to.

See Proverbs 27:17

5. Where can I begin to serve now?

What if you still just don’t have a clue what yours could be? Well, if you don’t know by now, you are lost and on your way to an eternal hell.

Just kidding.

If you still don’t know, get plugged in doing SOMETHING. See if it brings joy. See if it blesses others. See if it blesses you. If it does, you may be on to something. If not, go on to something else. Start serving now and see if gladness comes form it.

See Psalm 100:2

What is your spiritual gift based on your answers to these questions?

Want to get busy serving NOW? Email one of the pastors and/or staff immediately!!!!

images-1

Though I don’t always advise taking a spiritual gift inventory – they can be helpful on some occasions. I encourage you to honestly answer the above 5 questions first. However, if you would like to take it further – or if you are still having trouble, this spiritual gift assessment from The Church at Brook Hills looks really good. They even offer further explanation here.

Unknown

Also, this morning I read from an article discussing a recent study on why North Americans aren’t attending church as often as they used to. The article was from the Alabama Baptist and you can find it here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

