Ways to Cultivate a Lifestyle of Sharing the Gospel NOW – Part 1

So there’s a change to this week’s schedule on the blog. . .

I will – God willing – resume my normally scheduled blogramming next week. . .

Stay tuned. . .

Yesterday morning at FBC El Dorado, I completed a 4-part series entitled “Membership DO’s.” DO #4 was “GO: A church member is committed to a lifestyle of sharing the Gospel and is enthusiastic about the local church.”

GO

You can listen or watch the message here. By the way, you can watch the video we showed throughout the service here (YouTube – type in “Eric Ludy – The Gospel” in the search engine).

At the end of the message, I listed 5 ways anyone can cultivate a lifestyle of sharing the Gospel now:

#1. Know and share your personal testimony. 

#2. Intentionally build a relationship with someone who doesn’t know Jesus. 

#3. Ask someone where they go to church. 

#4. Ask someone if they have any spiritual beliefs. 

#5. JUST DO IT!

Being that I had to fly through these 5 ways, I said I wanted to dialogue more about how to do these here on the blog.  Thus the change in the weekly schedule and the approach of what you can expect this week.

Before I get to these 5 ways – however – I think we should start somewhere that is SUPER important for anyone who is struggling with sharing the Gospel with an unbeliever. As I said in the message yesterday, if you are a follower of Jesus, a Christian, you already know the Gospel. If you don’t know the Gospel, you aren’t a Christian. Oftentimes, I am afraid, it’s not so much that we don’t know the Gospel – but rather, we don’t know how to get started in a conversation about the Gospel.

But perhaps even deeper than that – if we’re honest – is we simply don’t hurt for the lost. Our hearts aren’t broken for those who reject, or who have yet to understand, or yet to hear the Good News.

Our baptistery has been bone dry for all of 2014 so far. This should cause us to WEEP! If we are more concerned with whether or not the pastor wears a coat and tie than we are about making Jesus known in our town – there is a BIG TIME PROBLEM!

So, perhaps we need to START by praying Scripture back to the Lord, begging Him to give us HIS heart for those who are yet to know Him. Perhaps when we are truly burdened for those who are yet to be followers of Jesus, we will be catapulted out into the dark world, gladly showing them the light.

Consider what Paul said in Romans 9:1-3:

I am speaking the truth in Christ—I am not lying; my conscience bears me witness in the Holy Spirit— that I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart. For I could wish that I myself were accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers, my kinsmen according to the flesh. 

Did you catch that?

Yep. He said it. Paul had great sorrow and unceasing anguish in his heart for the lost. Paul actually wished he could be cursed and cut off from Christ if it would guarantee the salvation of his Jewish brothers.

Yes. Cut off from the promises of Jesus. Cursed. No longer a Christian. Separated from the goodness of God forever. Why? If it meant the salvation of the lost. He, of course, could never do that. Only One could – and He already has – been separated from God for their salvation. But isn’t it interesting that obviously Paul had Jesus’ heart for the lost? Isn’t what Paul longed to do for the salvation of his Jewish brothers EXACTLY what Jesus did do for them? Yes. Paul had Jesus’ heart.

Maybe we need to start here. Maybe this is where we need to begin our quest for cultivating a lifestyle of sharing the Gospel.

Would you pray these three things for your soul today? If so, go ahead – do it NOW:

1. Ask your Father to give you great sorrow for those who do not yet know or trust Jesus.

2. Ask your Father to give your heart unceasing anguish for those who do not yet follow Jesus. 

3. Ask your Father to give you radical and extreme longings, desires, and behaviors for the sake of helping the lost know Jesus as their Savior and Lord. 

Or, perhaps, we just need to pray, “Father, give me the same heart for the lost that Jesus has.” He’ll do it. Ask Him.

See you back here tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Ways to Cultivate a Lifestyle of Sharing the Gospel NOW – Part 1

  1. […] not being able to expound on the application of this past Sunday’s sermon, I am taking this week to help us (I say us because I need this just as much as anybody) personally cultivate a lifestyle […]

  2. Brad Weinischke says:

    Matt,
    What a challenge. My heart knows your message is true, because the holy spirit is in you and as much as I fall short of God’s call I can see him working through you.

  3. […] of sharing the Gospel NOW. This series was prompted by this sermon. Part 1 of the series is here and Part 2 is […]

Leave a Reply

