Now THAT’s a Good Question!

In our neighborhood we have been visited by Jehovah’s Witnesses and Mormons. I am never sure how to handle these visits. We are always nice and even offer them bottles of water. Ultimately, I don’t think I have handled these visits very well. What should I do in these situations?

Great Question!

Can any of you relate to this? I know I can. Below is my response. I would love any additional insight and advice you may have as you read. Please comment below. . .

Unknown

Thank you for your question and your desire to be intentional in your neighborhood. I know God will bless and honor ANY attempt to seize an opportunity for His name to be proclaimed. At the end of the day, there is no wrong way to try to share the truth of the Gospel. The only wrong way is to NOT DO IT!
When it comes to seizing an opportunity with Mormons and/or Jehovah’s Witnesses (JW’s), let me recommend you do 5 things:
#1. Have a general knowledge/understanding of what they believe. 
There is an INCREDIBLE website for Christians wanting to learn more about other religions, beliefs, denominations, etc. You can go there by clicking here. The site is carm.org. It stands for Christian Apologetics & Research Ministry (CARM). Go here to find out all you want about what Jehovah’s Witnesses believe. Go here to find out about Mormon’s and what they believe. It is an extremely reliable and helpful resource. I would encourage you to spend a little time getting a bit of the basics down about what they believe. (carm.org even provides videos that present a short snapshot of what these two religions profess to believe).
I would also encourage you to get this book  by Thom Rainer. The book includes fascinating accounts of people from a variety of religious backgrounds who were converted to Christianity. Chapter 1 deals with a converted Mormon and chapter 5 a JW. Not only are the stories inspirational and encouraging, they also shed insight in how to share the Gospel with each. I highly recommend the book!Unknown-1
#2. Regularly pray for them and future opportunities. 
a. Pray for God to send them by your home again.
b. Pray for God to give you the ears to hear as they talk.
c. Pray for God to give you the words to use to share the truth.
d. Pray for God to open the hearts to the truth.
e. When they walk away from your home, pray for God to save them.
#3. If possible, make time for their visit. 
This may NOT be possible every time they come to the door. But if it can be, stop what you are doing and invite them in (when appropriate), or invite them to sit on the front porch with you. Take time to listen to them. Listen for cues. Listen for things you share in common about your faith. Listen because you care about them and listen so you will have earned the right to be heard when it’s your turn.
#4. Always, always, always steer and keep the conversation focused and directed on the biblical Jesus. 
Though evangelical Christians differ drastically from JW’s and Mormons on many issues – the primary & most important differentiation is on the Person and Work of Jesus Christ. For specifics regarding what Mormons believe about Jesus, click here. For JW’s understanding of Jesus, click here. The Jesus we know from the Bible differs drastically from the one taught by these two religions. Ask them questions about their understanding of Jesus. Press them on what you know the Bible says about Jesus. Ask them if they were to die and stand before God, how would they know they were going to heaven (if they mention anything else or in addition to faith in the finished work of Jesus – it is NOT right!). Not only will this help them be confronted with truth, right faith in the right Jesus is the ONLY way to be saved.
#5. Be prayerful, gracious, kind, & firm.
Though ideal, you probably are not going to see them “stop, drop, and repent” right there on the spot. It would be great – sure. But that’s probably not going to happen. In this kind of situation, a “win” would be for them to leave your house questioning some of their own beliefs about what the truth is – especially as it relates to Jesus. If you have prompted some thoughts for them to take with them in their heads as they walk away, definite “win.” It is also a good idea to stay kind and gracious. Brag on their zeal for proselytizing what they believe to be true. Let’s be honest – we evangelicals can learn something from these people! Ask how you might pray for them. If they are out walking your neighborhood, offer them a cold bottle of water. But always be firm on what you believe about the sufficiency of Jesus’ work on the cross. Be clear on what you believe the Bible teaches about His Person and Character and Divine Nature. Leave them with a good taste of truth about Jesus.
I hope this helps. Keep on sharing! God will honor it and use you to bring others to Him for salvation!!!
Let me know how I might be of more help in the future.
What else would YOU add to this list??
6 thoughts on “Now THAT’s a Good Question!

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    As a teenager I was taught, and as an adult I’ve seen it true, to stay away from and do not engage these people unless you yourself are fully grounded spiritually and have put on the armor of God that Paul describes in Ephesians because if you do otherwise, these groups know just enough truth to suck you in, especially the ones at your door, they have been trained (tsad Baptists don’t train anymore).

    • Ralph Paisley says:

      Iam sure Rodney knows 1Peter 3:15 that tells us to always be prepared. Of course, we need to be fully grounded. The question is, can we engage with kindness and respect?

      • Rodney Wimberly says:

        Yes sir, my only point is that this is nothing to play with, “for we wrestle not with flesh and blood”, and if one is not prepared in knowledge of and firmly grounded in God’s Word, harm can come to the one trying to engage.

        I am not advotaciting not engaging these folks, I’m just saying don’t enter into it lightly.

  2. Libby says:

    My brother is very well versed in the Bible and he invites them in. He gives them the straight plan of salvation. He knows enough about their denomination that he opens the Bible and gives them scripture that points to the errors in their beliefs. They never come back twice to his door.

  3. Nicole says:

    I have always shared as much as I could… even inviting them in to the house. I had a Jehovah Witness come by our house once several years ago and I invited her and the lady with her in. I was in the middle of one of my precept studies so my Bible and Strong’s and notebooks were all over the kitchen table. They stayed for at least an hour that day. For weeks after she would come back bringing a new friend with her every time. I would ask her what they believed and then would share what I believed. Then we moved and I never saw her again… but I know her name and continue to pray for her.

    I have several stories like these…

    I always take the material they offer and read over it. They will usually come back and if you take the material… and read it purposely and prayerfully and take the time to biblically address the issues, then you are prepared when they come back to reason the Scriptures with them.

    I have always look forward to the opportunity of sharing the gospel with them.

  4. Erin says:

    When I encounter other denominations with my patients at work, I find that it’s a monumental icebreaker to say , “I don’t know a lot about your beliefs. Can we talk about them?” Often, their demeanor instantly changes and we can have an open, comfortable conversation after that. Maybe it’s that they feel respected, but like you said above, if I listen to them first, they will listen to me in return. I have to be careful in my field but this is a way that I’ve found I can “legally” have those talks. I once had a conversation with a JW end with him saying he had never considered my view point and he looked thoughtful. I’m sorry, but I counted that as a win. Lol

Leave a Reply

