Why I Am a Southern Baptist

Today I want to “Throw Out There” five realities about the Southern Baptist Convention (SBC). . .

Unknown

First, let me “Throw Out There” the fact that the SBC is meeting in Baltimore, Maryland this Tuesday and Wednesday. All Southern Baptist’s (approved by their home church, called “messengers”) are invited to attend this annual meeting.

Second, let me “Throw Out There” that you can follow along with all the events via this App. I will not be traveling to Baltimore, so I plan to use the app often to stay in touch with what is going on.

Unknown-1

Third, let me “Throw Out There” that a fellow IMB trustee and one who has become a dear friend of mine in recent days, John Meador, is preaching the convention message. He pastor’s the great church of FBC Euless, Texas. If you have an opportunity to pause on Wednesday morning (he’s scheduled to begin at 11:42 am), give him a listen. You will be glad you did.

Fourth, let me “Throw Out There” the fact that some of the best preachers in the world will be preaching this Sunday night and Monday at the annual Pastor’s Conference that meets prior to the SBC. Again, if you have a chance – check out the schedule and give ’em a listen.

Fifth, let me “Throw Out There” that Arkansas’ own Ronnie Floyd is being nominated to be SBC’s next President.

Sixth, let me “Throw Out There” the two primary reasons I am a Southern Baptist:

1. Southern Baptist Doctrine aligns with Scripture – in my opinion – more than any other denomination.

Hear me. I am NOT saying the SBC is the only right and good denomination. I’m not. There are other denominations who believe the Bible and will be in heaven! A bunch of ’em. But I believe the Baptist Faith and Message aligns with the primary teachings of Scripture, more so than any other denomination.

2. Southern Baptist’s emphasize evangelism and missions more than any other denomination. 

Again, this is my opinion. And I confess I have never NOT known a denomination personally as I have the SBC. But I can say with all integrity that my entire life I have been encouraged, challenged, and urged with zeal to make Jesus known here and everywhere.

Seventh, and finally, let me “Throw Out There” the earnest need for us to pray for our convention.

Pray Psalm 80:18-19, along with messengers who will be attending the meeting. Pray that God would do this throughout our convention:

18 Then we shall not turn back from you;Unknown-2
    give us life, and we will call upon your name!

19 Restore us, O Lord God of hosts!
    Let your face shine, that we may be saved!

4 thoughts on “Why I Am a Southern Baptist

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    Our history, we have forgotten our history and what being a Baptist means, to our detriment. Modern day Baptists, especially Southern Baptists, remind me of the punch line to an old Richard Pryor joke when the wino says, “Stop confusing me with the truth and tell me some more of your lies.”

  2. Croft Segars says:

    Brother, like you I am affiliated with the SBC because of the overall allegiance to the Scriptures. Their belief, and mine alike, is that Scripture is authoritative and sufficient. But your second point is concerning to me. Let me be clear; I am NOT saying don’t evangelize. Not at all. But a focus towards evangelism, to me, is a problem in the denomination. There has been such a push towards winning folk for Christ and getting them in the church that by in large we have forgotten the command in Mat. 28:18-20 of making disciples. You know, life transformed disciples!?! It’s like we get them in, God converts them and we expect the Pastor to do the discipleship.

    Evangelism is part of discipleship, but discipleship isn’t necessarily part of evangelism. V.19 does say “baptizing them…” which clearly indicates evangelism. But the commands are to: go, baptize, teach to observe all I have commanded (love God, love your neighbor). We are to model the life of Christ. He did seek to save the lost (Luke 19:10) his focus appears to have been to the group of twelve. Thoughts?

    • Croft, I agree totally with what you are saying. Yes, the focus is/has been on getting ’em and dunking ’em and then leaving ’em. However, the point I was trying to make is that the focus of the denomination on reaching the lost is superior than any other (again, in my opinion). This isn’t to say there aren’t things that need to be tweaked. However, the emphasis placed on chasing darkness (which includes discipleship, no doubt) is HUGE. For that, I am grateful and why I am gladly a part of the SBC. Make sense?

Leave a Reply

