I Dare Not Trust the Sweetest Frame

 Riches do not profit in the day of wrath,
    but righteousness delivers from death.

When the wicked dies, his hope will perish,
    and the expectation of wealth perishes too.

 Whoever trusts in his riches will fall,
    but the righteous will flourish like a green leaf.

Proverbs 11:4, 7, & 28

Who are you when it’s just you?

The Rich Young Ruler couldn’t stand the thought.

Who would you be without any money?Unknown

Who would you be without any riches or wealth?

Seriously, if Jesus said to you – right now – sell all you have and give it to the poor, would He be enough?

Or, do you need it for safety?

Do you need it for status?

Do you need it for power?

Is it your identity?

Is it your salvation?

What do you marinate your mind in more? Your bank account or your standing with God?

Make no mistake, dear friends. You and I will most definitely be without one day. One day it will be you, God, and – well, that’s it. Will your hope be standing in front of your face right then? Or will what you have hoped in be vanished, gone, no where to be found? I’ve heard it said a million times: “You can’t hook a U-Haul behind a hearse.”

Riches won’t help when it matters most. Money is a pitiful savior.

Righteousness? Yep. Why? Because being righteous connects you with the real Savior. How? Jesus. Only Jesus.

   My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

   When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

 His oath, His covenant, and blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When every earthly prop gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

   When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

One thought on “I Dare Not Trust the Sweetest Frame

  1. Tim McNatt says:

    Well said Matt…well said.

Leave a Reply

