New Look, New Purpose, Renewed Focus

During the “blog break,” I have done a lot of thinking.

A LOT of thinking. Unknown

I have constantly asked myself three questions:

#1. “How can I best serve the flock in which God has entrusted to my care?”

#2. “What is my passion as it relates to pastoring?”

#3. “How has God gifted and equipped me to best serve His church?”

The answer is simple and singular: God’s Word.

I can best serve the flock in which God has entrusted to my care by feeding them and helping them understand and apply His Word. Period. Shepherds feed and protect sheep. How is that done in the spiritual realm? By consistently feeding them the Word and guarding them from error with the Word.

My passion as it relates to pastoring is helping “churched people” encounter afresh the God of the Scriptures and be transformed (2 Corinthians 3:18) as a result.

How has God gifted and equipped me to best serve His church? I believe it is to communicate, teach, and help give understanding and application to what God has revealed to us from the Scriptures.

This is why the title of the blog has been changed to “Non-Traditional Heartburn.”

Traditional heartburn happens when you eat something that causes some crazy stuff to happen in your chest, making it feel Unknownlike your physical heart is, well, burning. You quickly and urgently ask, “Where are the Tums?”

Non-traditional heartburn, however, is when you encounter the Scriptures in a new, fresh, and/or supernatural way that causes your spiritual heart overwhelming warmth and joy as Jesus is revealed.

I get this straight from Luke 24 – my all time favorite chapter in all of Scripture. Two guys walk with the resurrected Jesus on a road called Emmaus. As they walk, Jesus walks through the entire Old Testament – showing them how it all pointed to Him (v. 27). Luke tells us that when Jesus had gone away from them, they spoke to each other of how their hearts burned within them as He taught. Their hearts were warmed with joy and fresh insight as they understood the Scriptures in a new – Jesus exalting – way.

That’s what I want this blog to be. In this venue, I want to help you have heart burn. Non-traditional heart burn. I plan to share devotional thoughts from the Word, in the hopes that you will better understand the Word and have greater insight in how to apply it to your life.

So, starting next week, I will (God willing) be back here with some devotional thoughts from the Word, in the hopes of giving you heart burn.

You can sign up to receive automatic updates below.

4 thoughts on “New Look, New Purpose, Renewed Focus

  1. Rodney Wimberly says:

    Happy to see you back!

  2. Danny says:

    Welcome back to the blogosphere, Matty Matt! I like it!

  3. Thanks Danny D. You inspired me!

Leave a Reply

