Why God Acts

Today’s Reading: 2 Samuel 13, Ezekiel 20, Psalm 66-67, 2 Corinthians 6.

images

Why does God do everything He does?

Why does God act?

Why does God bless His people?

Why does He rebuke His people?

Why does God work?

Today’s reading makes it crystal clear: for His name to be known among all nations.

Ezekiel 20:9 – “But I acted for the sake of my name, that it should not be profaned in the sight of the nations among whom they lived, in whose sight I made myself known to them in bringing them out of the land of Egypt.”

Ezekiel 20:14 – “But I acted for the sake of my name, that it should not be profaned in the sight of the nations, in whose sight I had brought them out.”

Ezekiel 20:22 – “But I withheld my hand and acted for the sake of my name, that it should not be profaned in the sight of the nations, in whose sight I had brought them out.”

Ezekiel 20:26 – “I did it that they might know that I am the Lord.”

Ezekiel 20:41 – “And I will manifest my holiness among you in the sight of the nations.”

Psalm 66:4 – “All the earth worships you and sings praises to you; they sing praises to your name.”

Psalm 67:1-4a – “May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, that your way may be known on earth, your saving power among all nations. Let the peoples praise you, O God; let all the peoples praise you! Let the nations be glad and sing for joy!”

2 Corinthians 6:2-4 – Behold, now is the favorable time; behold, now is the day of salvation. We put no obstacle in anyone’s way, so that no fault may be found with our ministry, but as servants of God we commend ourselves in every way.”

God does what He does so that all the world might know that He exists, He loves them, He has sent His Son to atone for their sins, and a way has been made for them to be right with and worship Him.

God does what He does so that the world might worship Him.

Why would the world want to worship Him?

Because He alone is worth worshipping.

Consider what Tamar said to her brother Amnon just before he raped her: “As for me, where could I carry my shame?” (2 Samuel 13:13)

Why would we or the rest of the world want to worship God? Because we all are filled with shame and there is only one place to go with it. God loves you and God loves me and God loves Tamar and God loves the world so much that He has provided a place for us to take our shame. In fact, in it’s not a place at all. It’s a Person.

Jesus bore our sins (shame!) in His body on a tree.

The shame we are filled with has been atoned for by Jesus. God has done it. God has demonstrated His love for the world by – even when we were full of shame – sending Jesus to be punished so we wouldn’t have to be.

The world must know this.

It’s why God acts.

When they know, He will be worshipped.

This. Cannot. Fail.

One thought on “Why God Acts

  1. janis camp says:

    You might want to read editorial in today’s El Do written by Brittany Nolan.
    janis

Leave a Reply

