Assumption Misses It

Today’s Reading: 1 Kings 10, Ezekiel 40, Psalm 91, Philippians 1.

“Because you have made the Lord your dwelling place—the Most High, who is my refuge. . .Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him; I will protect him, because he knows my name.” Psalm 91:9, 14

Unknown

I am bad at assuming.

I assume the Lord will take care of me, no matter what.

I assume the Lord will protect me regardless.

I assume He will be my refuge at all times, in all circumstances.

I assume He knows my prayer requests and will just “handle ’em.”

I assume a lot. Too much, actually.

No doubt, in spite of these assumptions and due to His amazing grace, He does take care of me in ways too innumerable to count.

However, if I understand an implication of this psalm correctly, I am missing out when I spend so much time just assuming.

Check out the word “because” in the verses quoted above from Psalm 91.

Because you have made the Lord your dwelling place. . . ”

Because you hold fast to the Lord in love . . .”

Because you know His name. . . ”

The word “because” puts a tone of intentionality in the mix. It’s as if God is saying, “Because you aggressively and intentionally and purposefully made Me your dwelling place and held fast to Me and know My name, then I will . . .” You see?

There’s no assumption here.

There is a going on the offensive to take hold of God – His power, His love, His great name. The psalmist runs to God because of who God is for him, rather than assumes God will take care of him because He is God. There is a subtle, but huge, difference.

Running to God, purposefully, gets God AND protection (in His ways and timing, and for His reasons).

Assuming God will handle it will allow for protection at times, with no real and intimate and personal experience of God.

One gets to experience the presence of God in the particular deliverance. The other just gets the assumed protection.

What are you assuming about your life today? What are you just “hoping will all get worked out”?

Assume nothing. Not that God doesn’t care. But precisely because He does and He wants you to personally experience HIM.

 

 

One thought on “Assumption Misses It

  1. Brad Weinischke says:

    Are we saved because we say our prayers before we eat and before we go to bed because that is what we were taught to do? The intent of our actions, I believe, is as important as the frequency that we take these actions if not more important.
    God sees into our hearts. We are far better not doing these things Christians are supposed to do, than doing them with an empty heart.

Leave a Reply

