Okay God, You’re the One Responsible for This!

Today’s Reading: 2 Kings 9, Hosea 1, Psalm 119:73-96, 1 Timothy 6.

“Your hands have made and fashioned me; give me understanding that I may learn your commandments.” Psalm 119:73

images

The flow and logic of this verse is freeing.

The first statement acknowledges the truth of Who put him together: “Your hands have made and fashioned me.”

The second statement is a prayer based on the truth of the first statement: “Give me understanding that I may learn your commandments.”

The prayer makes sense without the first statement. But the prayer makes much MORE sense due to the truth of the first statement.

Let me add a word that is implied here to explain what I mean: “Your hands have made and fashioned me; (therefore) give me understanding that I may learn your commandments.”

You see?

Because God made and fashioned this man, God knows how he works.

Because God put this guy together, God knows how he is wired.

Because God arranged his brain cells and capacity, God knows how he can comprehend stuff.

It’s as if the psalmist is saying, “Okay God, you know how I am wired. You know how bizarre my mind works. You know what things come easy to me and what things are hard. You made me. You put me together. You arranged everything about me. So please help me understand Your Word in a way that I can ‘get it’ and obey You.”

Or, to put it yet another – more down to earth – way: “Alright Lord, You’re responsible for this. Help me understand You according to the way You put me together.”

Isn’t that liberating?

This plea is an honest prayer to God for help. It is a cry to the One who made us to give us understanding, specifically for us – individually. Not only does God love us individually, but He can give us individual understanding of His ways because He knows what it will take to help us “get it.”

I love this prayer!

Pray it for yourself, for your family, for your friends, and for others: “Lord, You made me and know this crazy brain of mine. You formed it. You know what it will take for me to comprehend. So grant me understanding in a way I can ‘get it’ and learn Your ways.”

One thought on “Okay God, You’re the One Responsible for This!

  1. Ralph Paisley says:

    What a freeing concept (reality) that we can come to God and in an ordinary conversation open our hearts to Him. Even more, I think this Psalm encourages us to learn His Word so that we can be equipped to talk with Him. We (I) need to continually bring my heart’s desires to Him with praise and thanksgiving.
    Good wood, Pastor Matt.

Leave a Reply

