I Know Him and am Convinced

Today’s Reading: 2 Kings 10-11, Hosea 2, Psalm 119:97-120, 2 Timothy 1.

“. . . which is why I suffer as I do. But I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that he is able to guard until that Day what has been entrusted to me.” 2 Timothy 1:12

Unknown

Evidence that you truly believe in the reality of Jesus and the certainty of your future with Him will be seen in how you live your life now.

Evidence that you still doubt the reality of Jesus and your future with Him will be seen in how you live your life now.

Paul makes this abundantly clear in this verse. He suffers and is unashamed because He knows Jesus personally and is absolutely certain of his future with Him. His life is one that reveals he is not living for the here and now. Paul is willing to suffer and go without because he knows Jesus is real and he knows the end with Him will be better than life.

Which makes me wonder. . .

Do I know whom I believe in? Sure, I believe Him. I believe in Him. But do I know Him?

Am I convinced of how it will go with me in the end? I believe in heaven. I believe in a future with Jesus. But am I convinced of it?

There is a big difference between having “a belief” in someone or something and being absolutely convinced and certain of its reality.

I wonder if I still spend money the way I do and refuse to share the Gospel at times and watch so much football and pray because “I’m supposed to” and avoid hard, but truth-telling conversations and run from suffering because I don’t know whom I believe in and I am not convinced yet of my future with Him? Is there still a part of me that doubts?

Paul said he lived the way he did because he KNEW and was CONVINCED.

Do I live the way I do because I KNOW ABOUT and still WONDER?

If I knew Him like Paul did and was convinced of “the Day” like he was – would my life not smell more like Paul’s?

Paul knew Him and was convinced about the future with Him – and that changed everything.

God, I believe – help my unbelief.

 

Leave a Reply

