Five @ Free Flow Friday!!!

images

For the majority of us here in South Arkansas, this is the last Friday before school officially begins. Though I love ALL Fridays – I REALLY love Fridays during the school year. Can somebody say ‘FOOTBALL SEASON’?????

Below I have linked 5 articles to help you as school gets back in gear. Though the subject matter is somewhat random – their intent is aid in your being intentional for the sake of Jesus this year. . .

Enjoy.

 

#1. How to Prepare Your Child Spiritually to Return to School by Susan Greenwood

No matter how much we prepare our children, teach them to do right, take them to church, abstain from certain shows, words and people, ultimately, it is still up to them to choose the right path and make this faith their own. Sometimes, unfortunately, it is the bad choices that nurture the strongest faith. Just keep giving them to the Lord, stand firm in your beliefs and values and love them through it.

 

#2. Don’t Let Your Bad Day Become Your Family’s Bad Night by Casey Graham

When I walk in the door, I smile really big & find my kids.  I recognize them & their day.  Most of the time, they don’t say much but I want them to know that I’m happy to see them when I walk in the door.  Nothing beats a smile & a hug from dad!

 

#3. Should a Christian Photographer Work at a Same-Sex Wedding Ceremony by Russell Moore

The couple asking you to do this wedding aren’t your enemies (Eph. 6:12). They are made in the image of God and are loved by him, and so should be loved by us. As orthodox Christians we don’t believe this leads to the happiness they’re looking for, but we must stand with kindness as well as with conviction. Tell the couple that you wish them well, but that you have beliefs about marriage that won’t allow your conscience to participate in this way. Thank them for asking you but recommend a photographer who can click away with a clear conscience.

[Editor’s Note: I realize this isn’t about school. However, I think Dr. Moore offers some incredible insight and counsel that helps all followers of Jesus better think through this very difficult issue. I hope I’m wrong, but I believe our children will be faced with this more and more and more in the days ahead. We HAVE to be ready.]

 

#4. Ten things ‘Yahweh’ Means by John Piper

God’s name is almost always translated LORD (all caps) in the English Bible. But the Hebrew would be pronounced something like “Yahweh,” and is built on the word for “I am.”

So every time we hear the word Yahweh, or every time you see LORD in the English Bible, you should think: this is a proper name (like Peter or John) built out of the word for “I am” and reminding us each time that God absolutely is.

[Editor’s Note: Throughout this upcoming school year – not only do I need to be reminded of who God is – but my children, more than anything else in the universe, need God.]

 

#5. 9 Practical Steps You Can Take to Teach Your Children that Life is Not All About Them by Paul Alexander

If you’re a parent you know that teaching your children that life is not all about them and building a culture of servanthood in your family is no easy task. Kids naturally think that life is all about them, and by the way, most adults that I’ve met do too. This innate idea gets reinforced by the messages they receive in our culture through media, advertising, sports, and education among other things. Not to mention that most of us lead our families in a child centric fashion.

[Editor’s Note: Not only am I a selfish pig, but my children are too. Big time. Starting Monday, they will be hanging out with 20-25 other selfish pigs every day. Anything we can do to curb that, I believe, the better.]

What articles have you come across recently that can help Christian parents, kids, teachers, grandparents, administrators, and/or coaches be intentional throughout this school year?

Leave a comment